House Bill 1003 (AS PASSED HOUSE AND SENATE)

By: Representatives Ehrhart of the 36th, Evans of the 42nd, Wilkerson of the 38th, Dollar of the 45th, Parsons of the 44th, and others

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED AN ACT

To amend an Act creating the Cobb County-Marietta Water Authority, approved February
21, 1951 (Ga. L. 1951, p. 497), as amended, so as to change provisions relating to the
membership and terms of office of members of the authority; to provide for related matters;
to repeal conflicting laws; and for other purposes.

5

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF GEORGIA:

6	SECTION 1.
7	An Act creating the Cobb County-Marietta Water Authority, approved February 21, 1951
, 8	(Ga. L. 1951, p. 497), as amended, is amended by revising subsections (b) and (c) of Section
9	2 as follows:
10	"(b) The authority shall consist of seven members who shall be determined and selected
11	as follows:
12	(1) One member shall be the chairperson of the Board of Commissioners of Cobb
13	County, Georgia;
14	(2) One member shall be selected by the governing authority of the City of Marietta,
15	Georgia;
16	(3) One member shall be selected by the governing authority of the City of Smyrna,
17	Georgia; and
18	(4) Four members shall be selected by a caucus consisting of all members of the General
19	Assembly whose districts are wholly or partially within Cobb County. The four members
20	so selected by the caucus shall include one member from Cobb Commission District 1
21	or 4, excluding residents of Marietta and Smyrna; one member from Cobb Commission
22	District 2 or 3, excluding residents of Marietta and Smyrna; and two members from
23	unincorporated Cobb County.
24	(c) The term of office of the chairperson of the Board of Commissioners of Cobb County
25	as a member of the authority shall be concurrent with his or her term of office as
26	chairperson. The member of the authority appointed by the governing authority of Marietta

LC 40 1073/AP

serving on July 1, 2006, shall serve until August 14, 2008, and until his or her successor 27 28 is appointed and qualified. The member of the authority appointed by the governing 29 authority of Smyrna shall begin serving on August 15, 2006, and shall serve until August 14, 2008, or until his or her successor is appointed and qualified. Thereafter, both the 30 member of the authority appointed by Marietta and the member of the authority appointed 31 by Smyrna shall serve for terms of four years and until their successors are appointed and 32 qualified and shall assume office on August 15 following the expiration of the prior 33 34 members' terms. The three members of the authority appointed by the members of the 35 General Assembly from Cobb County serving on the effective date of the 2016 amendment to this subsection shall serve until their successors are appointed and qualified and until the 36 37 following dates: the member from unincorporated Cobb County shall serve until August 14, 2019; the member from Cobb Commission District 2 or 3, excluding residents 38 of Marietta and Smyrna, shall serve until August 14, 2017; and the member from Cobb 39 40 Commission District 1 or 4, excluding residents of Marietta and Smyrna, shall serve until August 14, 2018. The second member from unincorporated Cobb County shall assume 41 42 office on January 1, 2017, and shall serve until August 14, 2019, and until his or her 43 successor is appointed and qualified. Thereafter, such members of the authority appointed 44 by the members of the General Assembly from Cobb County shall serve for terms of four 45 years and until their successors are appointed and qualified and shall assume office on August 15 following the expiration of the prior members' terms." 46

47

SECTION 2.

48 All laws and parts of laws in conflict with this Act are repealed.