Bill Text: FL S1346 | 2020 | Regular Session | Introduced


Bill Title: Fees/Electric Vehicles

Spectrum: Partisan Bill (Republican 1-0)

Status: (Introduced) 2020-01-14 - Introduced [S1346 Detail]

Download: Florida-2020-S1346-Introduced.html
       Florida Senate - 2020                                    SB 1346
       
       
        
       By Senator Brandes
       
       
       
       
       
       24-00777C-20                                          20201346__
    1                        A bill to be entitled                      
    2         An act relating to fees; amending s. 320.08001, F.S.;
    3         creating an additional fee for electric vehicles;
    4         creating a license tax and an additional fee for plug
    5         in hybrid electric vehicles; providing for the
    6         distribution of proceeds from the additional fees;
    7         requiring, on specified dates, the Department of
    8         Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles to increase the
    9         additional fees, subject to certain requirements;
   10         providing that certain vehicles are exempt from
   11         specified fees; providing for the future expiration
   12         and reversion of specified statutory text; providing a
   13         contingent effective date.
   14          
   15  Be It Enacted by the Legislature of the State of Florida:
   16  
   17         Section 1. Section 320.08001, Florida Statutes, is amended
   18  to read:
   19         320.08001 Low-speed, electric, and plug-in hybrid electric
   20  vehicles; license tax.—
   21         (1) The license tax for a an electric vehicle or low-speed
   22  vehicle is the same as that prescribed in s. 320.08 for a
   23  vehicle that is not electrically powered.
   24         (2)(a) The license tax for an electric vehicle weighing
   25  less than 10,000 pounds is the same as that prescribed in s.
   26  320.08 for a vehicle that is not electrically powered, plus an
   27  additional $135 flat fee. Beginning on January 1, 2025, the
   28  license tax for an electric vehicle weighing less than 10,000
   29  pounds is the same as that prescribed in s. 320.08 for a vehicle
   30  that is not electrically powered, plus an additional $150 flat
   31  fee.
   32         (b)The license tax for an electric vehicle weighing 10,000
   33  pounds or more is the same as that prescribed in s. 320.08 for a
   34  vehicle that is not electrically powered, plus an additional
   35  $235 flat fee. Beginning on January 1, 2025, the license tax for
   36  an electric vehicle weighing 10,000 pounds or more is the same
   37  as that prescribed in s. 320.08 for a vehicle that is not
   38  electrically powered, plus an additional $250 flat fee.
   39         (c)Fifty percent of the proceeds of the additional flat
   40  fee must be deposited into the State Transportation Trust Fund,
   41  and 50 percent must be deposited into the Electric Vehicle
   42  Infrastructure Grant Program created under s. 339.286.
   43         (3) The license tax for a plug-in hybrid electric vehicle
   44  is the same as that prescribed in s. 320.08 for a vehicle that
   45  is not partially powered by a rechargeable energy-storage
   46  system, plus an additional $35 flat fee. Beginning on January 1,
   47  2025, the license tax for a plug-in hybrid electric vehicle is
   48  the same as that prescribed in s. 320.08 for a vehicle that is
   49  not partially powered by a rechargeable energy-storage system,
   50  plus an additional $50 flat fee. The proceeds of the additional
   51  flat fee must be deposited into the State Transportation Trust
   52  Fund.
   53         (4) On January 1, 2024, and every 5 years thereafter, the
   54  department shall increase the additional flat fees imposed under
   55  subsections (2) and (3) to ensure that the additional fees
   56  reflect any upward adjustment in the South Region Consumer Price
   57  Index compiled by the United States Department of Labor. The fee
   58  increase must be equal to the average percentage change in the
   59  South Region Consumer Price Index for the prior 5 years.
   60         (5)A low-speed, electric, or plug-in hybrid electric
   61  vehicle that uses a battery storage system of up to 5 kilowatt
   62  hours is exempt from any fee imposed under this section.
   63         Section 2. The amendments made by this act to s. 320.08001,
   64  Florida Statutes, expire on July 1, 2030, and the text of that
   65  section shall revert to that in existence on June 30, 2020,
   66  except that any amendments to such text enacted other than by
   67  this act must be preserved and continue to operate to the extent
   68  that such amendments are not dependent upon the portions of text
   69  which expire pursuant to this section.
   70         Section 3. This act shall take effect July 1, 2020, but
   71  only if SB 1230 or similar legislation takes effect, if such
   72  legislation is adopted in the same legislative session or an
   73  extension thereof and becomes a law.

feedback