Bill Text: FL S0140 | 2021 | Regular Session | Introduced

NOTE: There are more recent revisions of this legislation. Read Latest Draft
Bill Title: Fees/Electric Vehicles

Spectrum: Bipartisan Bill

Status: (Failed) 2021-04-30 - Died in Appropriations [S0140 Detail]

Download: Florida-2021-S0140-Introduced.html
       Florida Senate - 2021                                     SB 140
       
       
        
       By Senator Brandes
       
       
       
       
       
       24-00353A-21                                           2021140__
    1                        A bill to be entitled                      
    2         An act relating to fees; amending s. 320.08001, F.S.;
    3         creating additional fees for electric vehicles;
    4         creating a license tax and an additional fee for plug
    5         in hybrid electric vehicles; providing for the
    6         distribution of proceeds from the additional fees;
    7         requiring, on specified dates, the Department of
    8         Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles to increase the
    9         additional fees, subject to certain requirements;
   10         providing that certain vehicles are exempt from
   11         specified fees; providing for the future expiration
   12         and reversion of specified statutory text; providing a
   13         contingent effective date.
   14          
   15  Be It Enacted by the Legislature of the State of Florida:
   16  
   17         Section 1. Section 320.08001, Florida Statutes, is amended
   18  to read:
   19         320.08001 Low-speed, electric, and plug-in hybrid electric
   20  vehicles; license tax.—
   21         (1) The license tax for a an electric vehicle or low-speed
   22  vehicle is the same as that prescribed in s. 320.08 for a
   23  vehicle that is not electrically powered.
   24         (2)(a) The license tax for an electric vehicle weighing
   25  less than 10,000 pounds is the same as that prescribed in s.
   26  320.08 for a vehicle that is not electrically powered, plus an
   27  additional $135 flat fee. Beginning on January 1, 2025, the
   28  license tax for an electric vehicle weighing less than 10,000
   29  pounds is the same as that prescribed in s. 320.08 for a vehicle
   30  that is not electrically powered, plus an additional $150 flat
   31  fee.
   32         (b)The license tax for an electric vehicle weighing 10,000
   33  pounds or more is the same as that prescribed in s. 320.08 for a
   34  vehicle that is not electrically powered, plus an additional
   35  $235 flat fee. Beginning on January 1, 2025, the license tax for
   36  an electric vehicle weighing 10,000 pounds or more is the same
   37  as that prescribed in s. 320.08 for a vehicle that is not
   38  electrically powered, plus an additional $250 flat fee.
   39         (3) The license tax for a plug-in hybrid electric vehicle
   40  is the same as that prescribed in s. 320.08 for a vehicle that
   41  is not partially powered by a rechargeable energy-storage
   42  system, plus an additional $35 flat fee. Beginning on January 1,
   43  2025, the license tax for a plug-in hybrid electric vehicle is
   44  the same as that prescribed in s. 320.08 for a vehicle that is
   45  not partially powered by a rechargeable energy-storage system,
   46  plus an additional $50 flat fee.
   47         (4) The proceeds of the additional flat fees imposed under
   48  subsections (2) and (3) must be deposited into the State
   49  Transportation Trust Fund.
   50         (5)A low-speed, electric, or plug-in hybrid electric
   51  vehicle that uses a battery storage system of up to 5 kilowatt
   52  hours is exempt from any fee imposed under this section.
   53         Section 2. The amendments made by this act to s. 320.08001,
   54  Florida Statutes, expire on December 31, 2030, and the text of
   55  that section shall revert to that in existence on June 30, 2021,
   56  except that any amendments to such text enacted other than by
   57  this act must be preserved and continue to operate to the extent
   58  that such amendments are not dependent upon the portions of text
   59  which expire pursuant to this section.
   60         Section 3. This act shall take effect July 1, 2021, but
   61  only if SB ____ or similar legislation takes effect, if such
   62  legislation is adopted in the same legislative session or an
   63  extension thereof and becomes a law.

feedback