HR 9077

1

2

3

4

5

House Resolution

A resolution commending the Florida Southern College men's basketball team for winning the 2015 NCAA Division II Men's Basketball Championship.

6 WHEREAS, having won the Sunshine State Conference regular 7 season 22 times, and the Sunshine State Conference Tournament 22 8 times, Florida Southern College men's basketball team has a 9 storied tradition of athletic excellence, and

WHEREAS, in 2015, the Florida Southern College Moccasins made the school's 29th appearance in the NCAA Division II Men's Basketball Championship, and entered the 2015 tournament as the Sunshine State Conference Tournament Champions and the top seed in the South Regional, and

WHEREAS, on March 28, 2015, in Evansville, Indiana, the Florida Southern College men's basketball team defeated Indiana University of Pennsylvania to claim the college's second Division II national championship, and

WHEREAS, Moccasins Guard Kevin Capers was named a first team All-American and the Most Valuable Player of the 2015 NCAA Division II Men's Basketball Championship, and

WHEREAS, inspired by Head Coach Linc Darner; Assistant Coach, Ben Swank; Director of Basketball Operations, Mike Dubuque; and Director of Athletics, Pete Meyer, the Moccasins, including Stephen Battle, Kevin Capers, Melique Hill, Bubby Johnson, Tyler Kelly, Tyler Logan, Alex McClanahan, Tyler Ross,

Page 1 of 2

hr9077-00

2015

HR 9077

27 Dylan Travis, Daniel Turner, Stephen Turner, Michael Volovic, 28 and Dominique Williams, came together to form a championship-29 caliber team, NOW, THEREFORE,

31 Be It Resolved by the House of Representatives of the State of 32 Florida:

33

30

That the Florida Southern College men's basketball team is commended for winning the 2015 NCAA Division II Men's Basketball Championship.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this resolution be
presented to Anne B. Kerr, Florida Southern College President,
as a tangible token of the sentiments expressed herein.

2015