House Resolution

A resolution congratulating the Florida State
University 2018 softball team on their exemplary
season and on winning the 2018 National Collegiate
Athletic Association Division 1 Softball Championship.

WHEREAS, the Florida State University (FSU) 2018 softball team won the 2018 National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division 1 Softball Championship by defeating the University of Washington Huskies softball team 8-3 on June 5, 2018, and

WHEREAS, while playing in the NCAA's Women's College World Series (WCWS), the FSU Seminoles softball team finished in the top five in 15 team WCWS record book categories and set two WCWS team records for stolen bases and attempted stolen bases, and tied for the most wins, and

WHEREAS, individually, members of the FSU Seminoles softball team finished in the top five WCWS record book in 15 individual categories and set three individual records, including records for stolen bases by Dani Morgan, advancing runners by Elizabeth Mason, and the earned run average by Meghan King, and tied for the most base hits with Jessie Warren's 13 base hits, and

Page 1 of 4

WHEREAS, teammates Jessie Warren, Meghan King, Anna Shelnutt, Elizabeth Mason, and Sydney Sherrill were named to the WCWS All-Tournament Team, and

WHEREAS, 2018 was the sixth year in a row that the FSU Seminoles softball team reached the NCAA Super Regional round, and

WHEREAS, in addition to winning the 2018 NCAA Championship, the FSU Seminoles softball team was also the 2018 Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) Regular Season Champion for the sixth year in a row and the 2018 ACC Tournament Champion for the fifth year in a row, and

WHEREAS, teammates Jessie Warren, Kylee Hanson, Sydney Sherrill, Zoe Casas, and Meghan King were named to the All-ACC First Team, with Carsyn Gordon named to the All-ACC Second Team, and

WHEREAS, Jessie Warren was named the ACC Player of the Year, Kylee Hanson was named ACC Pitcher of the Year, and Sydney Sherrill was named ACC Freshman of the Year, and

WHEREAS, members of the FSU Seminoles softball team earned additional honors, including Kylee Hanson and Sydney Sherrill who were both named the National Fastpitch Coaches Association (NFCA) and USA Softball National Player of the Week; Jessie Warren, Kylee Hanson, and Sydney Sherrill who were named NFCA All-Americans; and Kylee Hanson, Carsyn Gordon, Jessie Warren,

Sydney Sherrill, and Meghan King who were named NFCA Southeast All-Region Members, and

WHEREAS, as a freshman, Sydney Sherrill finished the season with 29 doubles, an ACC single-season record, and Jessie Warren finished her career with the team with 83 home runs, 273 runs batted in, 229 runs scored, and a .820 slugging percentage, setting several NCAA, team, and personal records, and

WHEREAS, the coaching staff of the FSU Seminoles softball team was also recognized for their outstanding work and dedication when Lonni Alameda, Travis Wilson, Craig Snider were named the 2018 NFCA National Coaching Staff of the Year, and

WHEREAS, as a team, the FSU Seminoles softball team hit 115 doubles during the 2018 season, setting a team and ACC single-season record, hit 76 home runs, setting a team record, and won 36 consecutive ACC games from May 7, 2016, to April 6, 2018, the fifth longest conference winning streak in NCAA history, NOW, THEREFORE,

Be It Resolved by the House of Representatives of the State of Florida:

That the Florida State University Seminole 2018 softball team is congratulated on their exemplary season and on winning the 2018 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division 1 Softball Championship.

Page 3 of 4

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this resolution be presented to the president of Florida State University, John Thrasher, the Interim Athletics Director, David Coburn, the Head Softball Coach, Lonni Alameda, and each assistant coach and member of the Florida State University Softball Team as a tangible token of the sentiments expressed herein.

73

74

75

76

77

78