HM 475 2018

1 House Memorial

A memorial to the Congress of the United States, urging Congress to preserve the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) program.

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

2

3

4

WHEREAS, in June 2012, President Barack Obama's administration established the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) program for immigrants who came to the United States as children, making such individuals eligible to apply for temporary residence and work permits in the United States, and

12

13

14

WHEREAS, an individual who applies for the DACA program must have arrived in the United States before he or she turned 16 and must have lived in the United States continuously since June 15, 2007, and

1516

17

18

WHEREAS, approximately 787,580 individuals have qualified for DACA status, including 74,321 individuals in the State of Florida, and

19

20

21

WHEREAS, DACA recipients are from all over the world, including North America, South America, Africa, Europe, and Asia, and

2223

2425

WHEREAS, on September 5, 2017, President Donald Trump's administration rescinded the DACA program, offering a 6-month deferment to give the United States Congress an opportunity to pass a legislative resolution, and

Page 1 of 2

CODING: Words stricken are deletions; words underlined are additions.

HM 475 2018

WHEREAS, on March 5, 2018, DACA recipients will begin to lose their protected status, and

26

27

28

29

30

31

32

33

34

35

36

37

38

39

40

WHEREAS, ending the DACA program will cause hundreds of thousands of individuals to be separated from their established families, friends, and support networks, NOW, THEREFORE,

Be It Resolved by the Legislature of the State of Florida:

That the United States Congress is urged to preserve the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) program.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that copies of this memorial be dispatched to the President of the United States, to the President of the United States Senate, to the Speaker of the United States House of Representatives, and to each member of the Florida delegation to the United States Congress.

Page 2 of 2