

SPONSOR: Rep. K. Williams on behalf of all Representatives & Sen. Sturgeon on behalf of all Senators

## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES 152nd GENERAL ASSEMBLY

## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 127

COMMENDING CORY HAFER REPRESENTING THE APPOQUINIMINK SCHOOL DISTRICT FOR BEING SELECTED AS DELAWARE'S STATE TEACHER OF THE YEAR FOR 2024 AND COMMENDING EACH SCHOOL DISTRICT'S TEACHER OF THE YEAR.

1	WHEREAS, more than 10,000 teachers work each day with more than 140,000 children who attend 250 public
2	schools in 19 school districts and 23 charter schools; and
3	WHEREAS, teachers strive for excellence in their profession when they know that the community supports them
4	and appreciates their efforts on behalf of our children; and
5	WHEREAS, the Teacher of the Year program identifies building and district representatives who embody the best
6	qualities of all Delaware teachers; and
7	WHEREAS, the Delaware State Teacher of the Year is chosen for possessing a superior ability to inspire and
8	nurture students with a love of learning and for having won the admiration and respect of fellow teachers, school
9	administrators, and the parents of students; and
10	WHEREAS, Cory Hafer of the Appoquinimink School District has been named Delaware State Teacher of the
11	Year for 2024, as part of the National Teacher of the Year program—the oldest and most prestigious award program that
12	focuses public attention on excellence in teaching; and
13	WHEREAS, each of the other eighteen school districts has chosen a 2024 District Teacher of the Year, namely:
14	Appoquinimink: Cory Hafer of Middletown High (engineering and science)
15	Brandywine: Nader N. Makarious of Brandywine High (chemistry)
16	Caesar Rodney: Melissa Rapp of Caesar Rodney High (social studies)
17	Cape Henlopen: Rachel Peacock of Cape Henlopen High (chemistry)
18	Capital: Alexandra Griffith of William Henry Middle (English language arts and social studies)
19	Charter Network: Stephanie Trainer of The Charter School of Wilmington (social studies)
20	Christina: Emily Szymanski of the Brennen School (early intervention)
21	Colonial: Michelle Reutter of John G. Leach School (special education)
22	Delmar: Lauren Webster of Delmar Middle (science)
23	Indian River: Kasey Revel of Sussex Central High (agriscience)

Released: 05/09/2024 09:04 AM HD: KL: DS

3501520277

24	Lake Forest: Stephen West of Chipman Middle (social studies)
25	Laurel: Matthew Wood of Laurel High (agriscience)
26	Milford: Victoria Hudson of Benjamin Banneker Elementary (art)
27	New Castle County Vo-Tech: Tim Dorsey of Delcastle Technical High (science)
28	POLYTECH: Shannon Legg of POLYTECH High (automotive technology)
29	Red Clay Consolidated: Angela Morrow of Richey Elementary (fifth grade)
30	Seaford: Karent Díaz Ríos of Seaford Central Elementary (Spanish immersion)
31	Smyrna: Laura Massey of Clayton Elementary (reading intervention)
32	Sussex Tech: Anthony Varrato of Sussex Technical High (English language arts)
33	Woodbridge: Stephanie Sharp of Woodbridge Early Childhood Education Center (multilingual learners)
34	NOW, THEREFORE:
35	BE IT RESOLVED by the House of Representatives of the $152^{nd}$ General Assembly of the State of Delaware, the
36	Senate concurring therein, that the Members do hereby commend Cory Hafer for the well-deserved designation as 2024
37	Delaware State Teacher of the Year.
38	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the entire membership of the Delaware General Assembly does hereby extend
39	heartfelt gratitude to Cory Hafer, Delaware State Teacher of the Year, and to each of the fellow District Teachers of the
40	Year for 2024, for their many contributions to the betterment of education in Delaware.
41	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that suitably prepared copies of this House Concurrent Resolution be presented to
42	Cory Hafer and each of the District Teachers of the Year.

## **SYNOPSIS**

This Concurrent Resolution commends the 2024 Delaware State Teacher of the Year, Cory Hafer, and all of the District Teachers of the Year.

Released: 05/09/2024 09:04 AM