ENROLLED ORIGINAL

A CEREMONIAL RESOLUTION

25-163

IN THE COUNCIL OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

January 9, 2024

To recognize, honor, and congratulate the Paul Laurence Dunbar Senior High School FootballProgram for winning their 13th Turkey Bowl City Championship.

WHEREAS, Paul Laurence Dunbar Senior High School is historically the first public high school for Colored people and is located on the Corner of N & First street in Ward 5, with its High School motto being 'Enter to learn, Depart to serve';

WHEREAS, Paul Laurence Dunbar Senior High School Football Team had back-to-back Turkey Bowl appearances;

WHEREAS, Paul Laurence Dunbar Senior High School Football Team finished the year with a winning record for the 5th consecutive season, finishing at 9-2;

WHEREAS; Paul Laurence Dunbar Senior High School finished the season 9-2 and 6-0 in conference play;

WHEREAS, Paul Laurence Dunbar Senior High School Football Team Turkey Bowl Champions took home several Conference honors including Player of the year, First and Second Team honors and MVP of the 2023 Turkey Bowl;

WHEREAS, Paul Laurence Dunbar Senior High School Football Team Turkey Bowl title drew recognition from Washington Post, DCPS, Council Members and NFHS;

WHEREAS, Paul Laurence Dunbar Senior High School Football team has continued to promote high character student-athletes and great sportsmanship;

WHEREAS, Paul Laurence Dunbar Senior High School Football Team coaching staff consists of Emanuel Spivey, Greg Minott, Clement Wynn, Selelo Seshibe, Sam Reddick, Darren Nelson, Savon Mclemore, Tiffany Jackson, Kavon Gaino, Thaddeus Dukes, Eric Cox, Christopher Butler, Ronald Brown, Terry Cutchin, Jordan Esteban, Christopher Jeffrey, Cardale Kendal, Michael Steward;

ENROLLED ORIGINAL

WHEREAS, Paul Laurence Dunbar Senior High School Football Team was also supported by 4 student-managers Donyelle, Shavon, Reginae, Amani, Leeasha;

WHEREAS, Paul Laurence Dunbar Senior High School Football Team is led by Dunbar Alum, All Met Coach of the year, 2022 DCIAA Coach of the year, Maurice "Bink" Vaughn;

WHEREAS, Paul Laurence Dunbar Senior High School Head Coach, Maurice "Bink" Vaughn is the recipient of the 2022 DCIAA Coach of the year presented by the DCIAA;

WHEREAS, Paul Laurence Dunbar Senior High School and Head Coach, Maurice "Bink" Vaughn is a dedicated advocate for legislation to increase the amount of access for underserved communities;

WHEREAS, Paul Laurence Dunbar Senior High School Turkey Bowl championship winning team members include:

Solomon Sidbury - Captain, DCIAA Player of the year

Dre'Aun Wood - Captain, Turkey Bowl MVP

Brosnan Dukes – Captain

Kemond Felder

Michael Clark

Ky'von Cutchin

David Anderson

Isaiah Brandon

Chamon Burleigh

Raheim Coleman

Savion Crudup

Mykhi Davis

Quiron Davis

Clifton Dorn

Da'yone Fitch

Stanford Fitzgerald

Lafayette Frazier

Saki Frost

David Gore

Lawrence Grayson

Rashad Hicks

Bryan Jefferson

Yamar Johnson

Errick Lewis

Larry Mackall

Samari Marshall

ENROLLED ORIGINAL

Shamar Marshall
James Mason IV
Frank Mckeithan
Damarei Murphy
Shakwan Oliver
Alex Robinson
Sa'mar Robinson
Josiah Sanders
RiShaughn Sanders
Diallo Sekou
Malachi Thomas
Kelvon Thompson
Tristan Waters

RESOLVED, BY THE COUNCIL OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA, That this resolution may be cited as the "Dunbar High School Football 2023 DCIAA Turkey Bowl Championship Recognition Resolution of 2024."

- Sec. 2. The Council of the District of Columbia recognizes and honors the Dunbar High School Football team for winning the 2023 DCIAA Turkey Bowl Championship.
 - Sec. 3. This resolution shall take effect immediately.