	Rimallata	LL.M.)1.
1 2	Councilmember Brianne K. Nadeau	Councilmember Kenyan R. McDuffie
3		
4 5	ALM	Camelle
6	Councilmember Anita Bonds	Councilmember Charles Allen
7		
8	A CEDEMONIAL DESC	
9 10	A CEREMONIAL RESOLUTION	
11		
12		
13	IN THE COUNCIL OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA	
14		
15		
16		
17		
18	To recognize, honor, and congratulate the Hov	3
19	diving team for its first NCAA Conference Championshi	ip in over 30 years.
20	WHEDEAG H III''''' I A I I	
21	WHEREAS, Howard University is located along	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
22 23	university motto being 'Veritas et Utilitas, Truth and Ser	vice;
23 24	WHEREAS, Howard University is the only HBCU to have an NCAA swimming and	
25	diving program;	
26	arring programs	
27	WHEREAS, Howard University men's swimmin	ng and diving team finished the year with
28	a winning record for the fifth consecutive season, finishing at 6-2;	
29		
30	WHEREAS, Howard University men's swimming and diving team, during its 2022 – 2023	
31	campaign reset 16 of the 20 School records (5 Relay and	11 Individual);
32	WHEDEAC Howard University man's swimm	ing and diving toom Director and Hood
33 34	WHEREAS, Howard University men's swimming and diving team Director and Head Coach was inducted into the Howard University Athletics Hall of Fame for his accomplishments	
35	as a Howard University dual sport student-athlete (Swim	<u> </u>
36	as a floward Chiversity dual sport student dunicle (Swin	ining & Tennis),
37	WHEREAS, Howard University men's swimmin	g and diving team hosted the largest dual
38	meet in HBCU history, Battle at the Burr;	
39	•	
40	WHEREAS, the Battle at the Burr received Nat	ional attention and positively influenced
41	the swimming world, putting collegiate swimming and d	living in the spotlight;
42	MINEDE VOLTA 1111	
43	WHEREAS, Howard University men's swimmi	
44	swimming and diving team to be featured on the daily cover of the globally syndicated magazine,	
45	Sports Illustrated;	

 WHEREAS, Howard University men's swimming and diving team won the 2023 Northeast Conference Swimming and Diving Championship in Geneva, Ohio in dominant fashion;

WHEREAS, Howard University men's swimming and diving team shattered 10 Northeast Conference records (4 Relay and 6 Individual);

WHEREAS, Howard University men's swimming and diving team earned an impressive 21 total medals at the Northeast Conference Championships (12 Gold, 3 Silver, and 6 Bronze);

WHEREAS, Howard University men's swimming and diving team took home several Conference honors including Most Outstanding Swimmer, Most Outstanding Diver, Diving Coach of the Year, and Coaching Staff of the Year;

WHEREAS, Howard University men's swimming and diving team's conference title drew recognition from ESPN, CNN, NPR, NBC Nightly News, ABC World News, BET, Essence Magazine, Revolt Network, and several other media outlets;

WHEREAS, Howard University men's swimming and diving team has continued to promote water safety and drowning prevention;

 WHEREAS, Howard University men's swimming and diving team's coaching staff consists of Dr. Miriam Lynch, Salim King, Courtenay Miller, Jasmine Payne, Sidney Williams, and Jake Garza;

WHEREAS, Howard University men's swimming and diving team was also supported by two student-managers, Iman Ferguson and Gabriel Rose;

WHEREAS, Howard University men's swimming and diving team is led by Hall of Famer, Conference Coach of the Year, Professional of the Year, and National Coach of the Year, Nicholas Askew;

WHEREAS, Howard University men's swimming and diving team's Director and Head Coach, Nicholas Askew is the recipient of the 2023 Drake Hero Award presented by the Drake Group Education Fund;

WHEREAS, Howard University men's swimming and diving team's Director and Head Coach, Nicholas Askew is a dedicated advocate for legislation to increase the amount of access for underserved communities; and

WHEREAS, Howard University men's swimming and diving championship winning team members include: Miles Simon – Captain; Mark-Anthony Beckles – Captain; Luke-Kennedy Thompson – Captain; Tai Afrik; Taj Benton; Kevin Claiborne; Brenton Cooper; Miguel Davis Jr.; Ahmad Dove; Cyrus Gibson; Darin Johnson; Spencer Miles; Jordane Payne; Vaughn Peoples-Hobson; Niles Rankin; Reese Samuel; Arion Solomon; Tristan Stevens; Mark-Anthony Thompson; Erald Thompson III; Ty Triche; Jordan Walker; Langston Weddington; Joel Wilkinson; and Darien Williams.

......

93	RESOLVED, BY THE COUNCIL OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA, that this	
94	resolution may be cited as the "Howard University Men's Swimming and Diving Team 2023	
95	Northeast Conference Championship Recognition Resolution of 2023".	
96		
97	Sec. 2. The Council of the District of Columbia recognizes and honors the Howard	
98	University men's swimming and diving team for winning the 2023 NEC Championship.	
99		
100	Sec. 3. This resolution shall take effect immediately.	