

General Assembly

January Session, 2021

Committee Bill No. 430

LCO No. **3334**

Referred to Committee on COMMERCE

Introduced by: (CE)

AN ACT CONCERNING REGIONAL TOURISM DISTRICT BOARDS OF DIRECTORS.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in General Assembly convened:

Section 1. Subsection (b) of section 10-397 of the general statutes is
repealed and the following is substituted in lieu thereof (*Effective October* 1, 2021):

4 (b) Each regional tourism district shall be overseen by a board of 5 directors consisting of one representative from each municipality within 6 the district, appointed by the legislative body of the municipality and, 7 where the legislative body is a town meeting, by the board of selectmen, 8 except that two or more municipalities may jointly appoint one 9 representative, who shall be deemed to be present for each such 10 municipality for the purposes of a quorum at any board of directors 11 meeting that such representative attends and be permitted to vote for 12 each such municipality at any such meeting. Any such member of a 13 board of directors shall serve for a term of three years. In addition, the 14 board of directors may appoint up to twenty-one persons representing 15 tourism interests within the district to serve on the board. No board 16 member shall be deemed a state employee for serving on said board. All

- 17 appointments to the board of directors shall be reported to the
- 18 Commissioner of Economic and Community Development.

This act shall take effect as follows and shall amend the following sections:			
Section 1	October 1, 2021	10-3	97(b)

Statement of Purpose:

To allow two or more municipalities in any regional tourism district to jointly appoint one representative to the regional tourism district boards of directors.

[Proposed deletions are enclosed in brackets. Proposed additions are indicated by underline, except that when the entire text of a bill or resolution or a section of a bill or resolution is new, it is not underlined.]

Co-Sponsors: SEN. OSTEN, 19th Dist.; SEN. FORMICA, 20th Dist.

S.B. 430