

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 14-035

BY SENATOR(S) Scheffel and Jones, Aguilar, Balmer, Baumgardner, Brophy, Cadman, Crowder, Grantham, Guzman, Harvey, Heath, Herpin, Hill, Hodge, Jahn, Johnston, Kefalas, Kerr, King, Lambert, Lundberg, Marble, Newell, Nicholson, Renfroe, Rivera, Roberts, Schwartz, Steadman, Tochtrop, Todd, Ulibarri, Zenzinger, Carroll; also REPRESENTATIVE(S) Lawrence and Vigil, Becker, Buck, Buckner, Conti, Coram, Court, DelGrosso, Dore, Duran, Everett, Exum, Fields, Fischer, Foote, Garcia, Gardner, Gerou, Ginal, Hamner, Holbert, Hullinghorst, Humphrey, Joshi, Kagan, Kraft-Tharp, Labuda, Landgraf, Lebsock, Lee, May, McCann, McLachlan, McNulty, Melton, Mitsch Bush, Moreno, Murray, Navarro, Nordberg, Pabon, Peniston, Pettersen, Primavera, Priola, Rankin, Rosenthal, Ryden, Saine, Salazar, Schafer, Scott, Singer, Sonnenberg, Stephens, Swalm, Szabo, Tyler, Waller, Williams, Wilson, Wright, Young, Ferrandino.

CONCERNING THE DESIGNATION OF APRIL 28, 2014, AS "FIRST RESPONDER APPRECIATION DAY".

WHEREAS, First responders risk their own safety and personal property in the execution of their duties to protect the public on a daily basis; and

WHEREAS, First responders are the first line of defense for the public against threats, both domestic and foreign; and

WHEREAS, First responders stand at the ready to come to the aid of the citizens of the United States of America twenty-four hours a day; and

WHEREAS, First responders are a vital part of our communities, not only standing ready to deal with emergencies but also volunteering in our schools and community organizations; and WHEREAS, Individuals, both career and volunteer, from police, fire, emergency medical services, search and rescue, and other organizations in the public safety sector, come together as a collective to aid the public in the event of an emergency; and

Whereas, The governors of the states of Illinois, Oregon, Kentucky, and Wisconsin have issued proclamations designating September 27 as First Responders Appreciation Day; and

Whereas, The city of Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, has also celebrated First Responders Appreciation Day; and

WHEREAS, The Colorado General Assembly wishes to honor and support all first responders with an annual day of appreciation; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Senate of the Sixty-ninth General Assembly of the State of Colorado, the House of Representatives concurring herein:

That we, the members of the Colorado General Assembly, designate April 28, 2014, "First Responder Appreciation Day".

Be It Further Resolved, That copies of this Joint Resolution be sent to Karen Renshaw, CAE Executive Director, Colorado Association of Chiefs of Police; Christopher Olson, County Sheriffs of Colorado; Ron Graton, Colorado State Fire Fighters Association; Mike Rogers, Colorado Professional Fire Fighters; Paul Cooke, Division of Fire Prevention and Control, Colorado State Patrol; Howard Paul, Executive Director, the Emergency Medical Services Association of Colorado and Public Affairs Manager, the Colorado Search and Rescue Board; Sgt. John Hahn, Colorado State Patrol; Jacki Kelley, Jefferson County Regional SWAT; Fred Wegner, Park County Sheriff; the I Love You Guys Foundation; Tim Gregg; Tawnya Silloway, National EMS Memorial Service; George McCulloc, President, North Fork Volunteer Fire Department; Patrick Smith, President, Foothills Fire Department; Randolph Winsett, President, Mountain View Fire Department; Ron Ruyl, President, Wiggins Rural Fire Department; Erik Christensen, Fire Chief, Fort Morgan Fire Department; Roger Holter, Chair, City of Brush Fire Department; Daniel Oates, Chief of Police, City of Aurora; Grayson Robinson, Arapahoe County Sheriff; Mike Garcia, Fire Chief, City of Aurora; Dr. Christopher Colwell, Director of Emergency Medical Services, Denver Health Medical Center; Dr. Frank Lansville, Director of Emergency Medical Services, Aurora South Hospital; Tracy Lauzon, Director of Emergency Medical Services and Trauma Services, Aurora Medical Center; Patricia Tritt, Director of Emergency Medical Services, Swedish Medical Center Denver; Michael Kehoe, Chief of Police, City of Newtown; Joe Rios, City of Newtown Executive Officer Captain; Ed Davis, Police Commissioner, City of Boston; Steve Abraira, Fire Chief, City of Boston; Bob Gann, Fire Chief, Rist Canyon Volunteer Fire Department; Tom DeMint, Fire Chief, Poudre Fire Authority; John Hutto, Chief of Police, City of Fort Collins; Justin Smith, Larimer County Sheriff; Peter Carey, Chief of Police, City of Colorado Springs; Terry Maketa, El Paso County Sheriff; Kimberly Culp, Executive Director, Larimer Emergency Telephone Authority; Stan Hilkey, Mesa County Sheriff; Michael Morgan, Colorado State Fire Chiefs; Brian Shepherd, National Public Safety Broadband Network; Daniel Brennan, Chief of Police, City of Wheat Ridge; Shayne Heap, Elbert County Sheriff; Edward Deveau, Chief of Police, City of Waterton, Massachusetts; Jennifer Schaffer, City Secretary, City of West, Texas; David Carr, Incident Commander, West Fork Fire Complex; Beth Lund, Great Basin Type 1 Incident Management Team Commander, West Fork Fire Complex; Gerald Jerant, Fire Chief, Huerfano County; Gregg Goodland, Public Information Officer, Royal Gorge Fire Department; Kyle Patterson, Spokesperson, Rocky Mountain National Park; James Englert, School Resource Officer Deputy Sheriff, Arapahoe High School; James Mauler, Security Guard, Arapahoe High School; Arapahoe County Sheriff's Office; Gerry Morrell, Fire Chief, Lafayette Fire Department; Joe Pelle, Sheriff, Boulder County; Craig Fugate, Administrator, Federal Emergency Management Agency; Chuck Russell, Deputy Incident Commander, Larimer County; Ben Pennymon, Spokesperson, Boulder County Office of Emergency Management; J.J. Hoffman, Fire Chief, City of Lyons; Shane Del Grosso, Boulder Incident Commander; Eric Marsh, Crew Supervisor, Granite Mountain Hotshots; Ben Palm, Fire Chief, Yarnell Fire Department; Joseph Finn, Deputy Fire Chief, Boston Fire Department; Ty Trenary, Snohomish County Sheriff; Steve Harris, Search Effort Division Supervisor, Washington state; Tod Incident Commander, Northwest Washington Incident Management Team; Travis Hots, Fire Chief, Snohomish County Fire District 21; Marti Whitmore, Public Information Officer, Ouray County; Lynn Padgett, Chairperson, Ouray County Board of County Commissioners; Michael Farr, Sergeant, Denver Police Department; Bellamann Hee, Trooper, Colorado State Patrol; Mike Butler, Public Safety Chief, Longmont Public Safety; Bruce Goodman, Chief of Police, Louisville Police Department; Tim Parker, Fire Chief, Louisville Fire Protection District; Rick Bashor, Chief of Police, Lafayette Police Department; Marc Vasquez, Chief of Police, Erie Police Department; Mark Lawley, Fire Chief, Mountain View Fire Protection District; Frederick Ryan, Chief of Police, Arlington Police Department; and Richard Brown, Fire Chief, Colorado Springs.

Morgan Carroll
PRESIDENT OF
THE SENATE

Cindi Markwell SECRETARY OF THE SENATE Marilyn Eddins CHIEF CLERK OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Mark Ferrandino

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE

OF REPRESENTATIVES