

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 14-028

BY SENATOR(S) Kerr, Cadman, Crowder, Grantham, Guzman, Heath, Herpin, Hodge, Jahn, Johnston, Jones, Kefalas, King, Newell, Nicholson, Roberts, Scheffel, Schwartz, Steadman, Tochtrop, Todd, Ulibarri, Carroll;

also REPRESENTATIVE(S) Kraft-Tharp and Gerou, Becker, Buck, Buckner, Conti, Coram, Court, DelGrosso, Dore, Duran, Exum, Fields, Fischer, Foote, Gardner, Ginal, Hamner, Holbert, Hullinghorst, Joshi, Kagan, Labuda, Landgraf, Lawrence, Lebsock, Lee, May, McCann, McLachlan, McNulty, Melton, Mitsch Bush, Moreno, Murray, Nordberg, Pabon, Peniston, Pettersen, Primavera, Priola, Rankin, Rosenthal, Ryden, Salazar, Schafer, Scott, Singer, Sonnenberg, Stephens, Szabo, Tyler, Vigil, Waller, Williams, Wilson, Wright, Young, Ferrandino.

CONCERNING CELEBRATION OF DAY WITHOUT HATE 2014.

WHEREAS, In May 2007, following the tragedy at Virginia Tech University, a group of Standley Lake High School students founded Day Without Hate, a student-led, grassroots organization that promotes nonviolence, unity, and respect in schools; and

WHEREAS, Last year, more than 120,000 students in 250 schools, 10 universities, 14 states, and 4 countries set aside the last Friday of April to celebrate Day Without Hate, committing themselves to upholding the values of the organization and refusing to live in fear in their own schools; and

WHEREAS, The Colorado community holds the responsibility to foster an environment of tolerance throughout our diverse community; and

WHEREAS, By publicly acknowledging and celebrating Day Without Hate, the state of Colorado, in association with Day Without Hate, stands

with our schools and our youth to promote a culture of nonviolence through embracing our differences to build a better and brighter future for all of our current and future residents; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Senate of the Sixty-ninth General Assembly of the State of Colorado, the House of Representatives concurring herein:

That we, the members of the Colorado General Assembly, acknowledge the tireless work of Day Without Hate, recognize the necessity of promoting awareness of nonviolence, respect, and unity within our educational system, and proclaim April 25, 2014, to be Day Without Hate in the state of Colorado.

Be It Further Resolved, That copies of this Joint Resolution be sent to Governor John Hickenlooper, the Jefferson County Day Without Hate committee, and the Colorado Congressional delegation.

Morgan Carroll

Mark Ferrandino
PRESIDENT OF

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE
THE SENATE

OF REPRESENTATIVES

Cindi Markwell Marilyn Eddins
SECRETARY OF CHIEF CLERK OF THE HOUSE

THE SENATE OF REPRESENTATIVES