

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 16-019

BY SENATOR(S) Kefalas and Crowder, Aguilar, Baumgardner, Carroll, Cooke, Donovan, Garcia, Grantham, Guzman, Heath, Hill, Hodge, Holbert, Jahn, Johnston, Jones, Kerr, Lambert, Lundberg, Marble, Martinez Humenik, Merrifield, Neville T., Newell, Roberts, Scheffel, Scott, Sonnenberg, Steadman, Tate, Todd, Ulibarri, Woods, Cadman; also REPRESENTATIVE(S) Landgraf and Arndt, Becker J., Becker K., Buck, Buckner, Carver, Conti, Coram, Court, Danielson, DelGrosso, Dore, Duran, Esgar, Everett, Fields, Foote, Garnett, Ginal, Hamner, Humphrey, Joshi, Kagan, Klingenschmitt, Kraft-Tharp, Lawrence, Lebsock, Lee, Leonard, Lontine, Lundeen, McCann, Melton, Mitsch Bush, Moreno, Navarro, Neville P., Nordberg, Pabon, Pettersen, Primavera, Priola, Rankin, Ransom, Rosenthal, Roupe, Ryden, Saine, Salazar, Sias, Thurlow, Tyler, Van Winkle, Vigil, Willett, Williams, Wilson, Windholz, Winter, Wist, Young, Hullinghorst.

CONCERNING THE DESIGNATION OF MARCH 15, 2016, AS "COLORADO ARC DAY".

WHEREAS, The days of forcing people with intellectual and developmental disabilities into institutions are largely over; and

WHEREAS, More than 80,000 Coloradans with intellectual and developmental disabilities now live, go to school, and work in our communities; and

WHEREAS, For more than 60 years The Arc has advocated for community supports and services for people with intellectual and developmental disabilities; and

WHEREAS, With 13 local chapters across the state, The Arc of Colorado works every day to help children and adults with intellectual and developmental disabilities, their families, and other advocates to

improve the service delivery system; and

WHEREAS, The Arc believes people with intellectual and developmental disabilities are defined by their strengths, abilities, and inherent value and not by their disabilities; and

WHEREAS, The Arc believes people with intellectual and developmental disabilities belong in the community and have fundamental moral, civil, and constitutional rights to be fully included and to actively participate in all aspects of society; and

WHEREAS, The Arc knows that people with intellectual and developmental disabilities, with appropriate resources and supports, can make decisions about their own lives and must be heard on issues affecting their lives; and

WHEREAS, The Arc is committed to working with the Colorado General Assembly, the administration, and state agencies as well as all partners providing advocacy, services, and support for people with intellectual and developmental disabilities to increase resources and improve systems so that people can live productive, healthy lives in the community; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Senate of the Seventieth General Assembly of the State of Colorado, the House of Representatives concurring herein:

- (1) That we express our most sincere and deepest appreciation for the men and women at Colorado chapters of The Arc for their commitment to supporting and improving the quality of life for Coloradans with intellectual and developmental disabilities; and
- (2) That we hereby declare March 15, 2016, to be "Colorado Arc Day".

Be It Further Resolved, That copies of this Joint Resolution be sent to Governor John Hickenlooper; Lieutenant Governor Joe Garcia; Mr. Peter V. Berns, Chief Executive Officer, The Arc of the United States; Ms. Marijo Rymer, Executive Director, The Arc of Colorado; Ms. Aileen McGinley, Executive Director, Advocacy Denver; Ms. Linda Skaflen, Executive Director, The Arc of Adams County; Ms. Darla Stuart,

Executive Director, The Arc of Aurora; Ms. Lori Ropa, Executive Director, The Arc - Jefferson, Clear Creek, and Gilpin Counties; Ms. Marilee Boylan, Executive Director, The Arc of Larimer County; Mr. Keith Larsen, Executive Director, The Arc of Mesa County; Ms. Carol Meredith, Executive Director, The Arc of Arapahoe and Douglas Counties; Ms. Ailsa Wonnacott, Executive Director, The Association for Community Living in Boulder County; Mr. Wilfred Romero, Executive Director, The Arc of the Pikes Peak Region; Ms. Stephanie Garcia, Executive Director, The Arc of Pueblo; Mr. Larry McDermott, Executive Director, The Arc of Weld County; Mr. Joe Kusar, President, The Arc of Southwest Colorado; Ms. Danielle Angotti, President, The Arc of West Central Colorado; Ms. Brooke Hayden, Executive Director, Blue Peaks Developmental Services, Inc.; Mr. Michael F. Atlas-Acuña, Executive Director, Colorado Bluesky Enterprises, Inc.; Ms. Tara Kiene, President/Chief Executive Officer, Community Connections, Inc.; Mr. Tom Turner, Executive Director, Community Options, Inc.; Ms. Beverly Winters, Executive Director, Developmental Disabilities Resource Center; Ms. Melanie Worley, Chief Executive Officer, Developmental Pathways; Ms. Rhonda Roth, Executive Director, Eastern Colorado Services for the Developmentally Disabled, Inc.; Ms. Mary Lu Walton, Executive Director, Envision; Mr. John Haley, President, Foothills Gateway: Mr. Robert L. Grover, President, Horizons Specialized Services; Mr. Mark Emery, Executive Director, Imagine!; Mr. Johnnie DeLeon, Chief Executive Officer, Inspiration Field; Mr. Bruce Christensen, Executive Director, Mountain Valley Developmental Services; Mr. Randy Brodersen, Executive Director, North Metro Community Services, Inc.; Ms. Shari Rapinski, Interim Chief Executive Officer, Mountain Human Services; Mr. Duane Roy, Executive Director, Southern Colorado Developmental Services; Ms. Loretta Johnson, President, Southeastern Developmental Services, Inc.; Mr. Robert Arnold, Chief Executive Officer, Starpoint; Ms. Sharon Jacksi, Interim Chief Executive Officer, Strive; Mr. David A. Ervin, Executive Director, The

Resource Exchange; Mr. Josh Rael, Executive Director, Alliance; Mary Anne Harvey, Executive Director, Disability Law Colorado; Dr. Sandra Friedman, Director of JFK Partners, University of Colorado School of Medicine; and Marcia Tewell, Executive Director, Colorado Developmental Disabilities Council.

Bill L. Cadman PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE Dickey Lee Hullinghorst SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Effie Ameen SECRETARY OF THE SENATE Marilyn Eddins CHIEF CLERK OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES