

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 14-1010

BY REPRESENTATIVE(S) Singer and Buck, DelGrosso, Foote, Humphrey, Young, Becker, Buckner, Conti, Coram, Court, Dore, Duran, Everett, Exum, Fields, Fischer, Garcia, Gardner, Gerou, Ginal, Hamner, Holbert, Hullinghorst, Joshi, Kagan, Kraft-Tharp, Labuda, Landgraf, Lawrence, Lebsock, Lee, May, McLachlan, McNulty, Melton, Mitsch Bush, Moreno, Murray, Navarro, Nordberg, Pabon, Peniston, Pettersen, Primavera, Priola, Rankin, Rosenthal, Ryden, Saine, Salazar, Scott, Sonnenberg, Swalm, Szabo, Tyler, Vigil, Waller, Williams, Wilson, Wright, Ferrandino; also SENATOR(S) Nicholson and Renfroe, Lambert, Aguilar, Balmer, Baumgardner, Brophy, Cadman, Crowder, Grantham, Guzman, Harvey, Heath, Herpin, Hill, Hodge, Jahn, Johnston, Jones, Kefalas, Kerr, King, Lundberg, Marble, Newell, Rivera, Roberts, Scheffel, Schwartz, Steadman, Tochtrop, Todd, Ulibarri, Zenzinger, Carroll.

CONCERNING THE RECOGNITION OF FLOOD RECOVERY EFFORTS THROUGHOUT THE STATE.

WHEREAS, The September 2013 flood was a devastating natural disaster; and

WHEREAS, Ten lives were lost and many more imperiled as a result of the flood; and

WHEREAS, Local, state, and national fire and rescue personnel put their own lives at risk to assist those in need of rescue; and

WHEREAS, Civilian volunteers also put their own lives at risk to assist those in need of rescue; and

WHEREAS, Many people in the affected areas suffered irreparable damage to their homes or livelihoods; and

WHEREAS, Many communities suffered significant damage to roads and bridges and to power, communications, and water and sewer systems; and

WHEREAS, The National Guard, the Colorado Department of Transportation, and untold other government, private, and volunteer organizations have worked swiftly and tirelessly to restore access to those dispossessed by the flood and its aftermath; and

WHEREAS, The Colorado Department of Public Safety, through its Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management, organized mission assignments, resource management, and logistics for flood recovery efforts; coordinated emergency response efforts of other agencies, including the National Guard and the Colorado Department of Transportation; worked closely with the Federal Emergency Management Agency; and, through the Colorado State Patrol, provided security and participated in emergency operations; and

WHEREAS, The Commissioners of Adams, Boulder, Chaffee, Clear Creek, Denver, El Paso, Fremont, Gilpin, Jefferson, Lake, Larimer, Lincoln, Logan, Morgan, Otero, Park, Prowers, Pueblo, Sedgwick, Washington, and Weld counties and the mayors and other city officials of the affected communities have worked tirelessly to assist individuals, families, and businesses impacted by the flood and to address the damage done to residential homes, businesses, and infrastructure in their communities; and

WHEREAS, Colorado's state and local governments, the federal government, private sector organizations, faith-based and other nonprofit volunteer organizations, including the Colorado mounted rangers, and countless individuals have worked tirelessly to assist individuals, families, and businesses impacted by the flood and to address damage done to homes, businesses, and infrastructure; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the House of Representatives of the Sixty-ninth General Assembly of the State of Colorado, the Senate concurring herein:

- (1) That we, the members of the Colorado General Assembly, proudly recognize and commend:
- (a) The vibrant Colorado spirit that brought neighbors out to help neighbors;
- (b) The local, state, and federal governments for their swift action in saving both human and animal lives and in restoring infrastructure;
- (c) Local, national, and international businesses for their assistance in the flood recovery efforts; and
- (d) Faith-based and other nonprofit relief organizations from around the world that have worked tirelessly to rebuild communities and shelter families.
- (2) That the recovery effort is not over and that we, the members of the Colorado General Assembly, must continue to be mindful of and address the needs of the victims of this event and future catastrophic events.

Be It Further Resolved, That copies of this Joint Resolution be sent to President Barack Obama; the Honorable Governor John Hickenlooper; Rick Raemisch, the Executive Director of the Colorado Department of Corrections; Robert K. Hammond, the Commissioner of Education; Reggie Bicha, the Executive Director of the Colorado Department of Human Services; Reeves Brown, the Executive Director of the Colorado Department of Local Affairs; Mike King, the Executive Director of the Colorado Department of Natural Resources; Dr. Larry Wolk, the Executive Director and Chief Medical Officer of the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment; James H. Davis, the Executive Director of the Colorado Department of Public Safety; Donald E. Hunt, the Executive Director of the Colorado Department of

Transportation; Major General H. Michael Edwards, the Adjutant General of Colorado for the Colorado National Guard; and the members of the Colorado Congressional Delegation.

Mark Ferrandino
SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE
OF REPRESENTATIVES

Morgan Carroll PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

Marilyn Eddins
CHIEF CLERK OF THE HOUSE
OF REPRESENTATIVES

Cindi Markwell SECRETARY OF THE SENATE