NOTE: This bill has been prepared for the signatures of the appropriate legislative officers and the Governor. To determine whether the Governor has signed the bill or taken other action on it, please consult the legislative status sheet, the legislative history, or the Session Laws.



HOUSE BILL 12-1079

BY REPRESENTATIVE(S) Barker, Fields, Kerr J., Pace, Schafer S., Todd, Vigil;

also SENATOR(S) King S., Guzman.

CONCERNING DESIGNATION OF CERTAIN POSITIONS IN THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Colorado:

SECTION 1. In Colorado Revised Statutes, **amend** 16-2.5-111 as follows:

16-2.5-111. Executive director of the department of public safety - deputy executive director of the department of public safety - director of the division of criminal justice in the department of public safety. The executive director AND DEPUTY EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR of the department of public safety is a AND THE DIRECTOR OF THE DIVISION OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE IN THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY ARE peace officer OFFICERS whose authority shall include the enforcement of all laws of the state of Colorado and who may be certified by the P.O.S.T. board.

SECTION 2. In Colorado Revised Statutes, 24-33.5-103, **add** (5) as follows:

Capital letters indicate new material added to existing statutes; dashes through words indicate deletions from existing statutes and such material not part of act.

24-33.5-103. Department created - divisions. (5) The executive director may appoint the deputy director of the department of public safety, pursuant to section 13 of article XII of the state constitution. Subject to the supervision of the executive director, the deputy director has the same powers, duties, and responsibilities of the executive director as provided by law and shall exercise such powers, duties, and responsibilities in the absence of the executive director and when so instructed by the executive director.

SECTION 3. Safety clause. The general assembly hereby finds,

Frank McNulty	Brandon C. Shaffer
SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES	PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE
Marilyn Eddins	Cindi L. Markwell
CHIEF CLERK OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES	SECRETARY OF THE SENATE
APPROVED	
AITROVED	