1	State of Arkansas
2	93rd General Assembly A Bill
3	Regular Session, 2021SENATE BILL 742
4	
5	By: Senator J. English
6	By: Representative Speaks
7	
8	For An Act To Be Entitled
9	AN ACT CONCERNING THE ESTABLISHMENT OF THE FOUR (4)
10	CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICT BOUNDARIES IN ARKANSAS; TO
11	DECLARE AN EMERGENCY; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.
12	
13	
14	Subtitle
15	CONCERNING THE ESTABLISHMENT OF THE FOUR
16	(4) CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICT BOUNDARIES IN
17	ARKANSAS; AND TO DECLARE AN EMERGENCY.
18	
19	
20	BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:
21	
22	SECTION 1. Arkansas Code § 7-2-102 is amended to read as follows:
23	7-2-102. First Congressional District.
24	(a) The First Congressional District shall be composed of:
25	(1) The <u>the</u> counties of Arkansas, Baxter, <u>Boone,</u> Chicot, Clay,
26	Cleburne, Craighead, Crittenden, Cross, Desha, Fulton, Greene, Independence,
27	Izard, Jackson, Lawrence, Lee, Lincoln, Lonoke, <u>Marion,</u> Mississippi, Monroe,
28	Phillips, Prairie, Poinsett, <u>Prairie,</u> Randolph, St. Francis, <u>Searcy,</u> Sharp,
29	Stone, and Woodruff ;
30	(2) The following voting districts of Jefferson County as they
31	existed on January 1, 2011:
32	(A) 19 (Dunnington) voting district;
33	(B) P15 (Dudley Lake) voting district;
34	(C) 25 (Old River) voting district;
35	(D) 57 (Villemont) voting district;
36	(E) P91 (Roberts) voting district;



.

1 (F) P851 (Humphrey) voting district; and 2 (G) P862 (Humphrey) voting district; and 3 (3) The voting districts and voting precincts of Searcy County 4 as they existed on January 1, 2011, that are not listed under § 7-2-5 104(a)(4). 6 (b) The qualified electors residing in the counties and portion of Jefferson County and Searcy County listed under subsection (a) of this 7 8 section shall elect one (1) member of the United States House of 9 Representatives. 10 11 SECTION 2. Arkansas Code § 7-2-103 is amended to read as follows: 12 7-2-103. Second Congressional District. 13 (a) The Second Congressional District shall be composed of: 14 (1) the The counties of Conway, Faulkner, Perry, Pulaski, 15 Saline, Van Buren, and White; and 16 (2) The voting precincts of Pulaski County as they existed on 17 January 1, 2021, that are not listed under (7-2-105(a))(2). 18 (b) The qualified electors residing in the counties and portions of 19 Pulaski County listed under subsection (a) of this section shall elect one 20 (1) member of the United States House of Representatives. 21 22 SECTION 3. Arkansas Code § 7-2-102 is amended to read as follows: 23 7-2-104. Third Congressional District. 24 The Third Congressional District shall be composed of + (a) 25 (1) The the counties of Benton, Boone, Carroll, Crawford, 26 Madison, Marion, Pope, Sebastian, and Washington; 27 (2) The voting districts and voting precincts of Grawford County as they existed on January 1, 2011, that are not listed under § 7-2-28 29 105(a)(2); 30 (3) The following voting districts of Newton County as they existed on January 1, 2011: 31 32 (A) Big Creek voting district; 33 (B) Dogpatch voting district; 34 (C) Grove voting district; (D) Hasty voting district; 35 36 (E) Polk voting district;

SB742

1 (F) Richland voting district; and 2 (G) White voting district; 3 (4) The Prairie voting district of Searcy County as it existed 4 on January 1, 2011; and 5 (5) The voting districts and voting precincts of Sebastian 6 County as they existed on January 1, 2011, that are not listed under § 7-2-7 105(a)(5). 8 (b) The qualified electors residing in the counties and portions of 9 Grawford County, Newton County, Searcy County, and Sebastian County listed under subsection (a) of this section shall elect one (1) member of the United 10 11 States House of Representatives. 12 SECTION 4. Arkansas Code § 7-2-105 is amended to read as follows: 13 14 7-2-105. Fourth Congressional District. 15 The Fourth Congressional District shall be composed of: (a) 16 (1) The counties of Ashley, Bradley, Calhoun, Clark, Cleveland, 17 Columbia, Dallas, Drew, Franklin, Garland, Grant, Hempstead, Hot Spring, 18 Howard, Jefferson, Johnson, Lafayette, Lincoln, Little River, Logan, Madison, 19 Miller, Montgomery, Nevada, Newton, Ouachita, Pike, Polk, Pope, Scott, 20 Sevier, Union, and Yell; and 21 (2) The following voting districts precincts of Grawford Pulaski 22 County as they existed on January 1, 2011 2021: 23 (A) Alma # 1 voting district 053; (B) Alma # 4 voting district; 24 25 (C) Bidville voting district; (D) Chester voting district; 26 27 (E) Dean Springs voting district; 28 (F) Dyer voting district; 29 (C) Eagle Crest voting district; (H) Kibler voting district; 30 31 (I) Locke voting district; (J) Mountain voting district; 32 (K) Mulberry # 1 voting district; 33 (L) Mulberry # 2 voting district; 34 (M) Mulberry # 3 voting district; 35 36 (N) Porter voting district;

3

SB742

1	(0) Vine Prairie voting district;
2	(P) Whitley voting district; and
3	(Q) Winfrey voting district;
4	<u>(B) 054;</u>
5	<u>(C) 055;</u>
6	<u>(D) 130;</u>
7	<u>(E) 131;</u>
8	<u>(F) 132;</u>
9	(G) 133; and
10	<u>(H) 135</u>
11	(3) The voting districts and voting precincts of Jefferson
12	County as they existed on January 1, 2011, that are not listed under § 7-2-
13	102(a)(2);
14	(4) The voting districts and voting precincts of Newton County
15	as they existed on January 1, 2011, that are not listed under § 7-2-
16	104(a)(3); and
17	(5) The following voting districts of Sebastian County as they
18	existed on January 1, 2011:
19	(A) 9-1-A voting district;
20	(B) 9-1-B voting district;
21	(C) 9-1-C voting district;
22	(D) 9-1-D voting district;
23	(E) 9-1-E voting district;
24	(F) 9-1-Q voting district;
25	(C) 9-2-E voting district;
26	(H) 9-3-E voting district;
27	(I) 9-3-F voting district;
28	(J) 9-3-G voting district;
29	(K) 9-3-H voting district;
30	(L) 9-3-I voting district;
31	(M) 9-3-J voting district;
32	(N) 9-3-K voting district;
33	(0) 9-3-L voting district; and
34	(P) 9-3-M voting district.
35	(b) The qualified electors residing in the counties and portions of
36	Crawford <u>Pulaski</u> County , Jefferson County, Newton County, and Sebastian

4

County listed under subsection (a) of this section shall elect one (1) member
of the United States House of Representatives.

3

4 SECTION 5. EMERGENCY CLAUSE. It is found and determined by the 5 General Assembly of the State of Arkansas that the General Assembly is 6 responsible for establishing the four (4) United States Congressional 7 Districts in the state; that the United States Congressional Districts are 8 based on the information provided by the federal decennial census by the 9 United States Bureau of the Census; that the federal decennial census data 10 delivery was delayed; that the establishment of the four (4) United States 11 Congressional Districts is necessary to provide equal representation of the 12 citizens of Arkansas in the United States Congress; and that this act is 13 immediately necessary because the establishment of the four (4) United States Congressional Districts must occur in adequate time for the candidates to 14 file for office and for the citizens of Arkansas to have a fair election. 15 Therefore, an emergency is declared to exist, and this act being immediately 16 17 necessary for the preservation of the public peace, health, and safety shall 18 become effective on: 19 (1) The date of its approval by the Governor; 20 (2) If the bill is neither approved nor vetoed by the Governor, 21 the expiration of the period of time during which the Governor may veto the 22 bill; or 23 (3) If the bill is vetoed by the Governor and the veto is 24 overridden, the date the last house overrides the veto. 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36

5