1 2	State of Arkansas 89th General Assembly	A Bill	
3	Regular Session, 2013		HOUSE BILL 2197
4			
5	By: Representative Gillam		
6			
7		For An Act To Be Entitled	
8	AN ACT TO AMEND ARKANSAS LAW CONCERNING THE		
9	MEMBERSHIP OF THE ARKANSAS FAIR HOUSING COMMISSION;		
10	AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.		
11			
12			
13		Subtitle	
14	TO A	AMEND ARKANSAS LAW CONCERNING THE	
15	MEM	BERSHIP OF THE ARKANSAS FAIR HOUSING	
16	COM	MISSION.	
17			
18			
19	BE IT ENACTED BY THE	GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARK	ANSAS:
20			
21	SECTION 1. Ark	cansas Code § 16-123-303(d), concerni	ng the membership of
22	the Arkansas Fair Hou	ising Commission, is amended to read	as follows:
23	(d)(l) Members	s of the commission appointed by the (	Governor shall at
24	all times include one	e (1) member from each Arkansas congre	essional district.
25	<del>(2) Meml</del>	<del>pers appointed by the President Pro T</del> o	empore of the Senate
26	shall be chosen from	Arkansas congressional districts rota	a <del>ting in order, with</del>
27	the initial commission	oners being chosen from districts one	-(1) and two $(2)$ .
28		<del>pers appointed by the Speaker of the l</del>	
29	Representatives shall	l be chosen from congressional distri	<del>cts rotating in</del>
30	order with the initia	al members being chosen from districte	s three (3) and four
31	<del>(4).</del>		
32	(2) Appo	ointments by the President Pro Tempore	e of the Senate and
33	the Speaker of the Ho	ouse of Representatives shall be as fo	ollows:
34	<u>(A)</u>	The three (3) members appointed by	the President Pro
35	Tempore of the Senate	e shall be from the First Congression	al District and the
36	Second Congressional	District and the three (3) members as	ppointed by the

1	Speaker of the House of Representatives shall be from the Third Congressional
2	District and the Fourth Congressional District;
3	(B) At the next time for appointments, the three members
4	appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate shall be from the Third
5	Congressional District and the Fourth Congressional District and the three
6	(3) members appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives shall be
7	from the First Congressional District and the Second Congressional District;
8	<u>and</u>
9	(C) Future appointments shall alternate between the
10	requirements of subdivisions (d)(2)(A) and (d)(2)(B) of this section.
11	
12	
13	
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30	
31	
32	
33	
34	
35	
36	