1	State of Arkansas	A TO 111		
2	93rd General Assembly	A Bill		
3	Regular Session, 2021		HOUSE BILL 1225	
4				
5	By: Representative Tollett			
6				
7		For An Act To Be Entitled		
8	AN ACT CONC	ERNING THE REORGANIZATION OF THE	E STATE	
9	DISTRICT COURT SYSTEM; CONCERNING THE CURRENT			
10	FIFTEENTH AND SIXTEENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICTS; AND FOR			
11	OTHER PURPO	SES.		
12				
13				
14		Subtitle		
15		RNING THE REORGANIZATION OF THE		
16	STATE	DISTRICT COURT SYSTEM; AND		
17	CONCERNING THE CURRENT FIFTEENTH AND			
18	SIXTEE	ENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICTS.		
19				
20				
21	BE IT ENACTED BY THE GE	NERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF A	ARKANSAS:	
22				
23		sas Code § 16-17-1113(g), conce	_	
24		repealed as of December 31, 2024		
25	-	enth Judicial District shall be	-composed of the	
26 2 7	counties of Jackson and		(0)	
27		fteenth District shall have eigh	nt (8) departments as	
28	follows:			
29		One (1) located in Newport;		
30		One (1) located in Diaz;		
31		One (1) located in Swifton;		
32		One (1) located in Tuckerman;		
33 24		One (1) located in Augusta;		
34 35		One (1) located in Cotton Plants	,	
35 36		One (1) located in McGrory; and		
	- (11)	VIIC VII INCHECH III I ACELLINOII .		

1	(3) The Fifteenth Judicial District shall be served by one (1)			
2	state district court judge.			
3	(4) The Fifteenth Judicial District judge shall be elected			
4	districtwide.			
5	(5) The Fifteenth Judicial District court shall have			
6	districtwide jurisdiction.			
7				
8	SECTION 2. Arkansas Code § 16-17-1115 is amended to read as follows:			
9	16-17-1115. Reorganization of local district courts to state district			
10	courts as of January 1, 2025.			
11	(a)(1) Beginning January 1, 2025, the following cities and counties,			
12	currently being served by a local district court under § 16-17-901 et seq.			
13	shall be reorganized as a state district court district and served by state			
14	district court judges as assigned.			
15	(2) The new state district court judgeship created by this			
16	section shall become effective January 1, 2025, and shall be placed on the			
17	ballot to be elected in the 2024 nonpartisan judicial election from the newly			
18	constructed state district court district.			
19	(3) The cities and counties that were previously served by loca			
20	district courts and will be served by state district courts shall comply with			
21	the cost-sharing requirements established in § 16-17-1106, effective January			
22	1, 2025.			
23	(b)(1) The Thirteenth $\underline{\text{Judicial}}$ District is composed of the counties of			
24	Stone and Cleburne.			
25	(2) The Thirteenth $\underline{Judicial}$ District has five (5) departments as			
26	follows:			
27	(A) One (1) located in Heber Springs;			
28	(B) One (1) located in Greers Ferry;			
29	(C) One (1) located in Concord;			
30	(D) One (1) located in Quitman; and			
31	(E) One (1) located in Mountain View.			
32	(3) The Thirteenth $\underline{\text{Judicial}}$ District is served by one (1) state			
33	district court judge.			
34	(4) The Thirteenth <u>Judicial</u> District judge is elected			
35	districtwide.			
36	(5) The Thirteenth Judicial District court has districtwide			

1	jurisdiction.			
2	(c)(1) The Fifteenth Judicial District shall be composed of Jackson			
3	County.			
4	(2) The Fifteenth Judicial District shall have four (4)			
5	departments as follows:			
6	(A) One (1) located in Newport;			
7	(B) One (1) located in Diaz;			
8	(C) One (1) located in Swifton; and			
9	(D) One (1) located in Tuckerman.			
10	(3) The Fifteenth Judicial District shall be served by one (1)			
11	state district court judge.			
12	(4) The Fifteenth Judicial District judge shall be elected			
13	districtwide.			
14	(5) The Fifteenth Judicial District court shall have			
15	districtwide jurisdiction.			
16	$\frac{(e)(1)(d)(1)}{(d)(1)}$ The Sixteenth Judicial District shall be composed of the			
17	counties of Monroe and Arkansas County.			
18	(2) The Sixteenth <u>Judicial</u> District shall have seven (7) <u>four</u>			
19	(4) departments as follows:			
20	(A) One (1) located in Stuttgart;			
21	(B) One (1) located in De Witt;			
22	(C) One (1) located in Gillett; and			
23	(D) One (1) located in St. Charles;			
24	(E) One (1) located in Brinkley;			
25	(F) One (1) located in Clarendon; and			
26	(C) One (1) located in Holly Grove.			
27	(3) The Sixteenth Judicial District shall be served by one (1)			
28	state district court judge.			
29	(4) The Sixteenth Judicial District judge shall be elected			
30	districtwide.			
31	(5) The Sixteenth Judicial District court shall have			
32	districtwide jurisdiction.			
33	(e)(1) The Forty-Second Judicial District is composed of the counties			
34	of Monroe and Woodruff.			
35	(2) The Forty-Second Judicial District shall have seven (7)			
36	departments as follows:			

1	(A) One (1) located in Brinkley;			
2	(B) One (1) located in Clarendon;			
3	(C) One (1) located in Holly Grove;			
4	(D) One (1) located in Augusta;			
5	(E) One (1) located in Cotton Plant;			
6	(F) One (1) located in McCrory; and			
7	(G) One (1) located in Patterson.			
8	(3) The Forty-Second Judicial District shall be served by one			
9	(1) state district court judge.			
10	(4) The Forty-Second Judicial District judge shall be elected			
11	l <u>districtwide.</u>			
12	(5) The Forty-Second Judicial District court shall have			
13	districtwide jurisdiction.			
14				
15				
16				
17				
18				
19				
20				
21				
22				
23				
24				
25				
26				
27				
28				
29				
30				
31				
32				
33				
34				
35				
36				