- 1 SJR9
- 2 188000-1
- 3 By Senators Albritton, Orr and Stutts
- 4 RFD: Rules
- 5 First Read: 09-JAN-18

Т	188000-1:n:08/29/201/:AR/ar LRS201/-2861
2	
3	
4	
5	
6	
7	
8	JOINT RESOLUTION RECOGNIZING ST. STEPHENS AS THE
9	TERRITORIAL CAPITAL OF ALABAMA.
10	
11	WHEREAS, located in Washington County along the
12	Tombigbee River, on land formerly occupied by Native Americans
13	and by French, British, and Spanish colonists, the town of St.
14	Stephens was developed on the site of a 1789 Spanish outpost,
15	Fort San Esteban; and
16	WHEREAS, on March 3, 1817, the Congress of the
17	United States established the Alabama Territory from the
18	eastern portion of the Mississippi Territory; and
19	WHEREAS, on December 10, 1817, Congress designated
20	St. Stephens as Alabama's territorial capital; and
21	WHEREAS, members of the territorial Legislature
22	convened at St. Stephens on January 19, 1818, where they
23	selected Alabama's first representatives in Congress, drew
24	judicial districts, created new counties, and provided for a
25	census in anticipation of statehood; and

1	WHEREAS, in November 1818, the territorial
2	Legislature in St. Stephens made a formal petition for
3	statehood to Congress; and
4	WHEREAS, during the same session, the territorial
5	Legislature voted to relocate the capital temporarily to
6	Huntsville until such time as new facilities were completed in
7	Cahawba; and
8	WHEREAS, now operated by the St. Stephens Historical
9	Commission, the territorial capital is one of the most
10	significant archaeological sites in the state, replete with
11	remnants of Alabama's early political and cultural history;
12	and
13	WHEREAS, Alabama is currently engaged in a
14	commemoration of the Bicentennial of Statehood, a three-year
15	celebration of the people, places, and events that form our
16	rich history; now therefore,
17	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA, BOTH
18	HOUSES THEREOF CONCURRING, That we do hereby recognize St.
19	Stephens as the Territorial Capital of Alabama.