- 1 SJR71
- 2 184519-2
- 3 By Senators Dial, Ward, Bussman, Holley, Albritton, Allen,
- Beasley, Blackwell, Brewbaker, Chambliss, Coleman-Madison,
- 5 Dunn, Figures, Glover, Hightower, Holtzclaw, Livingston,
- 6 Marsh, McClendon, Melson, Orr, Pittman, Reed, Ross, Sanders,
- 7 Sanford, Scofield, Shelnutt, Singleton, Smith, Smitherman,
- 8 Stutts, Waggoner, Whatley and Williams
- 9 RFD:
- 10 First Read: 04-APR-17

1	SJR71
2	
3	
4	ENROLLED, SJR71,
5	COMMENDING TROY UNIVERSITY WOMEN'S BASKETBALL TEAM
6	AS 2017 SUN BELT CONFERENCE CHAMPIONS.
7	
8	WHEREAS, highest commendations and congratulations
9	are herein proudly presented to the Troy University Women's
10	Basketball Team on winning the 2017 Sun Belt Conference
11	Championship; and
12	WHEREAS, the Troy University Women's Basketball Team
13	competes at the NCAA Division I level as a proud member of the
14	Sun Belt Conference; and
15	WHEREAS, on March 12, 2017, the Lady Trojans
16	defeated the University of Louisiana-Lafayette 78-64 at
17	Lakefront Arena in New Orleans, Louisiana, to capture its
18	second consecutive Sun Belt Conference Championship to earn a
19	berth in the NCAA Women's Basketball Tournament; and
20	WHEREAS, senior Claresa Banks and sophomore La'Tia
21	Fils-Aime' of the Trojans were named to the All Tournament
22	Team and the Trojans' Caitlyn Ramirez, a senior, was named the
23	tournament's most outstanding player; and
24	WHEREAS, the team's championship roster also
25	consists of seniors Jayla Chills, Lauren Day, Kristen Emerson,

1	Ta'Kierra Gibbs, and Arjae' Saunders; juniors Amanda Mendoza
2	and Dajia Williams; sophomore Amahni Upshaw; and freshmen
3	Jessie Day, Amber Rivers, Kayla Robinson, and Harriet
4	Winchester; and

WHEREAS, the Trojans are led capably by Head Coach Chanda Rigby, whose Trojan teams have posted three consecutive seasons of 20 wins or more since she was named head coach five seasons ago, including this season's 22-11 record; and

WHEREAS, Coach Rigby's outstanding staff is composed of Jennifer Graf, associate head coach; Courtney Simmons, assistant coach; Neil Harrow, assistant coach; Janea Carnley, director of operations; Shannon Lemons, strength and conditioning coach; Cherise Crisman, trainer; Wes Johnson, sports information; and Yasmine Sturdivant and Keona Dejarnett, managers; now therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA, BOTH HOUSES THEREOF CONCURRING, That Coach Rigby and her team are commended for winning the 2017 Sun Belt Conference Basketball Tournament, thus earning a berth in the 2017 NCAA tournament and in the process representing the State of Alabama in an exemplary manner and it is further directed that the team receive a copy of this resolution as evidence of our appreciation.

1	
2	
3	
4	President and Presiding Officer of the Senate
5	
6	Speaker of the House of Representatives
7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14	SJR71 Senate 04-APR-17 I hereby certify that the within Senate Joint Resolution originated in and was adopted by the Senate.  Patrick Harris, Secretary.
15 16 17 18	House of Representatives Adopted: 06-APR-17
19	
20 21	By: Senator Dial