- 1 SJR20
- 2 148281-2

By Senators Coleman, Dunn, Figures, Irons, Waggoner, Pittman,
Marsh, Orr, Beasley, Beason, Smitherman, Singleton, Ross,
Allen, Bedford, Blackwell, Brewbaker, Bussman, Dial, Fielding,
Glover, Holley, Holtzclaw, Keahey, McGill, Reed, Sanders,
Sanford, Scofield, Smith, Taylor, Ward, Whatley and Williams
RFD:

9 First Read: 12-FEB-13

SJR20

1	SJR20
2	
3	
4	<u>ENROLLED</u> , SJR20,
5	RECOGNIZING THE 21ST ANNUAL DELTA DAY AT THE ALABAMA
6	STATE CAPITOL ON TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 19, 2013, AND COMMENDING
7	DELTA SIGMA THETA SORORITY, INCORPORATED.
8	
9	WHEREAS, it is with great pleasure that we recognize
10	Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated, on the observance of
11	the 21st Annual Delta Day on Tuesday, February 19, 2013, at
12	the Alabama State Capitol; and
13	WHEREAS, a sisterhood founded on January 13, 1913,
14	by 22 collegiate women at Howard University, Delta Sigma Theta
15	Sorority now has grown to a membership of more than 250,000
16	women, predominantly Black and college-educated, in more than
17	1,000 chapters throughout the United States and abroad; and
18	WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority follows a
19	national Five Point Program: Economic Development, Educational
20	Development, International Awareness and Involvement, Physical
21	and Mental Health, and Political Awareness and Involvement;
22	the sorority promotes academic excellence, provides
23	scholarships, and encourages positive public policy; and
24	WHEREAS, the State of Alabama is proud to recognize
25	Delta Sigma Theta Sorority members who serve or served in the

Page 1

SJR20

Alabama Legislature: Senator Linda Coleman and former Senator 1 2 Sundra Escott; Representatives Laura Hall, Merika Coleman, 3 Mary Moore, Pebblin Warren, and the late Dr. Yvonne Kennedy, who was the 19th National President; we also honor additional 4 5 Delta Sigma Theta members: the late national Congresswomen of distinction, Shirley Chisholm, Barbara Jordan, and Stephanie 6 Tubbs Jones; as well as Dr. Regina Benjamin, an Alabama native 7 8 nominated on July 13, 2009, to serve as the United States 9 Surgeon General, who was unanimously confirmed by the United 10 States Senate on October 29, 2009; and Reverend Gwendolyn E. Boyd, 22nd National President, a native Alabamian and member 11 of the Board of Trustees of the Barry Goldwater Scholarship 12 13 and Excellence in Education Foundation, nominee of President 14 Barack Obama; and

15 WHEREAS, an organization characterized by membership 16 bonding, mutual support, and public interest, Delta Sigma 17 Theta Sorority has been of significant benefit to young women 18 and their communities through the years; the State of Alabama 19 is proud to recognize the organization's significant 20 contributions to educational, civic, and social advancement; 21 now therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA, BOTH HOUSES THEREOF CONCURRING, That Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated, is most highly commended on the occasion of Delta Day on Tuesday, February 19, 2013, at the Alabama State Capitol, and we offer this resolution for presentation to
 Cheryl W. Turner, Southern Regional Director, and for
 appropriate display, with our sincere best wishes for all
 future endeavors.

1	
2	
3	
4	President and Presiding Officer of the Senate
5	
6	Speaker of the House of Representatives
7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14	SJR20 Senate 12-FEB-13 I hereby certify that the within Senate Joint Resolution originated in and was adopted by the Senate. Patrick Harris Secretary
15	
16 17 18 19	House of Representatives Adopted: 14-FEB-13
20 21	By: Senator Coleman

SJR20