- 1 HR388
- 2 177898-1
- 3 By Representatives Faulkner and Carns
- 4 RFD:
- 5 First Read: 03-MAY-16

1	177898-1:n:05/03/2016:JES/jes LRS2016-1759
2	
3	
4	
5	
6	
7	
8	COMMENDING THE MOUNTAIN BROOK BOYS AND GIRLS VARSITY
9	TENNIS TEAMS FOR REMARKABLE SUCCESS IN THE 7A AHSAA STATE
10	CHAMPIONSHIP GAMES.
11	
12	WHEREAS, highest commendations and congratulations
13	are herein proudly presented to the Mountain Brook Boys and
14	Girls Varsity Tennis Teams for remarkable success in the 7A
15	AHSAA State Championship games; and
16	WHEREAS, through hard work, diligence, and an
17	unwavering commitment to excellence, the Mountain Brook Boys
18	Varsity Tennis Team earned the state title with a 53 to 22
19	point victory over McGill-Toolen, and the Mountain Brook Girls
20	Tennis Team earned a runner-up finish with a 42 to 40 point
21	victory over Vestavia; and
22	WHEREAS, members of the Mountain Brook Boys Varsity
23	Tennis Team who won individual singles championships include
24	David Faulkner, Yates Jackson, Seth Cohen, and Leo Styslinger;
25	Peter Hartman and Paul Jones were semifinalists in the singles
26	division of the state championship; members of the Mountain

Brook Boys Tennis Team who won doubles championships include

27

Peter Hartman and Yates Jackson, David Faulkner and Paul
Jones, and Chase Robinett and Andrew Karcher; and

WHEREAS, members of the Mountain Brook Girls Varsity
Tennis Team who won individual singles championships include
Margaret Polk and Cele Sullivan; Sarah Cooper and Morgan
Jenkins earned runner-up finishes in singles, and Ellie Polk
was a seminfinalist; Margaret Anne Clark participated in
quarters; members of the Mountain Brook Girls Tennis Team who
won doubles championships include Sarah Cooper and Cele
Sullivan, and Margaret Polk and Ellie Polk and Helen Catherine
Darby and Kat Sours were semifinalists; and

WHEREAS, the members of the 2015-2016 Mountain Brook
Varsity Boys Tennis Team, whose efforts are to be laudably
commended and praised, include Aidan Cabraja, Cars Chandler,
Seth Cohen, Charlie Cope, John Darby, Hudson Dorough, David
Faulkner, Peter Hartman, Yates Jackson, Haskins Jones, Paul
Jones, Andrew Karcher, Scott Lepley, Harris Miller, Connor
Morgan, Stuart Phelan, Chase Robinett, and Leo Styslinger; and

WHEREAS, the members of the 2015-2016 Mountain Brook
Varsity Girls Tennis Team, whose efforts are to be laudably
commended and praised, include Kate Bumgarner, Whitton
Bumgarner, Margaret Anne Clark, Sarah Cooper, Helen Catherine
Darby, Maggie Duggan, Sullivan Ferreira, Morgan Jenkins, Ellie
Polk, Margaret Polk, Margaret Shufflebarger, Kathryn Sours and
Cele Sullivan; and

WHEREAS, expert guidance and leadership were
provided by Head Coach Susan Farlow and assistant coaches
Wally Nall, Caroline Hall, and Glenn Lamar; and

WHEREAS, the talented and hardworking members of the Mountain Brook Boys and Girls Tennis Teams are one-of-a-kind athletes whose determination, heart, and effort inspire countless others in their community and beyond to also give their very all; and

WHEREAS, the achievements of these student-athletes reflect immense credit upon the entire State of Alabama, and they are truly deserving of special recognition; now therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF
THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA, That the Mountain Brook Boys and
Girls Varsity Tennis Teams are honored and commended, and this
resolution is offered in highest tribute to the players and
coaches in highest tribute, along with sincere best wishes for
continued success in future endeavors.