- 1 HR321
- 2 129203-1
- 3 By Representatives Merrill, England, Melton, Poole, Harper,

4 Robinson (O), Scott and Rogers

- 5 RFD:
- 6 First Read: 12-APR-11

1 129203-1:n:04/08/2011:JMW/jmw LRS2011-2160 2 3 4 5 6 7 COMMENDING THE UNIVERSITY OF ALABAMA WOMEN'S 8 WHEELCHAIR BASKETBALL TEAM FOR WINNING A THIRD CONSECUTIVE 9 10 NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP. 11 12 WHEREAS, in Arlington, Texas, on March 13, 2011, The University of Alabama Women's Wheelchair Basketball Team won 13 14 its third consecutive National Championship by defeating the 15 University of Wisconsin Whitewater 58-56 in a playoff 16 tournament; and 17 WHEREAS, this outstanding team completed the season with a 24-8 record and advanced to the national finals for the 18 fourth consecutive year; and 19 WHEREAS, the Crimson Tide was paced in the 20 21 championship game by a 20-point, 13-rebound effort from 22 Karolina Lingyte and a 14-point, 10-rebound effort from Elisha 23 Williams, and outstanding 10-point productions from Cindy 24 Ouelett and Katie Hamock; and 25 WHEREAS, at the national awards banquet after the tournament, Annika Zeyen, Emily Seelenfreund, and Lindsey Metz 26 27 were named to the Academic All-American Team, with Lingyte,

Hamock, and Zeyen making the All-American first team, with
Ouelett and Williams making the second team, and Mackenzie
Soldan and Williams making the all-rookie team; now therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA, That by this resolution, we express our utmost admiration for the third consecutive National Championship won by this courageous group of young ladies who so ably represent the spirit of The University of Alabama and the great State of Alabama.