- 1 HR214
- 2 169040-1
- 3 By Representatives Daniels, Whorton (R), McCutcheon, Hall,
- 4 Patterson and Williams (P)
- 5 RFD:
- 6 First Read: 07-MAY-15

1	169040-1:n:05/07/2015:JEC/jec LRS2015-1733
2	
3	
4	
5	
6	
7	
8	COMMENDING THE GRISSOM HIGH SCHOOL CYBERPATRIOT TEAM
9	ON WINNING THE NATIONAL YOUTH CYBER DEFENSE COMPETITION.
10	
11	WHEREAS, highest commendations and congratulations
12	are herein proudly presented to the Grissom High School
13	CyberPatriot Team, known as the Grissom High School
14	CyberSloths, on the outstanding achievement of winning the
15	National Youth Cyber Defense Competition; and
16	WHEREAS, launched by the Air Force Association,
17	CyberPatriot is the national youth cyber education program
18	designed to inspire high school and middle school students
19	towards careers in cybersecurity or other science, technology,
20	engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines critical to
21	our nation's future; and
22	WHEREAS, the National Youth Cyber Defense
23	Competition is an integral part of the National Youth Cyber
24	Defense Competition, which simulates a work environment the
25	students may one day face and requires them to carry out the
26	responsibilities of a newly hired IT professional tasked with
27	managing the network of a small company; and

WHEREAS, the intelligent and industrious members of
the National Championship Team include Captain James Brahm,
Michelle Driessnack, Christopher Lin, Jeramy Lochner, Matthew
Rogers, and Morgan Wagner; and

WHEREAS, four of the team members have been working as paid interns for Dynetics; their project, reverse engineering malware, is recognized as very novel, and they have spoken at professional conferences to share their progress; and

WHEREAS, in 2014, five juniors on the team won an all-expenses-paid trip to Washington, D.C., and placed second nationally; over the last two years, the CyberSloths have earned more than \$30,000 in scholarship money, and have been accepted to the prestigious colleges and academies of their choice; and

WHEREAS, expert guidance and leadership were provided by Coach Christine Sutton and Mentors Ira Lacey, Frank Sutton, Chad Garber, Joshua Smith, Craig Mitchell, and Russ Ward; and

WHEREAS, the tremendous achievement of these young scholars reflects immense credit upon their school, their families, and the entire State of Alabama; now therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA, That the Grissom High School CyberPatriot Team is highly honored and commended, and this resolution is offered in highest tribute, along with sincere best wishes for the future.