- 1 HR151
- 2 137408-1
- 3 By Representatives Shiver, Jackson and Beech
- 4 RFD:
- 5 First Read: 23-FEB-12

1	137408-1:n:02/17/2012:JEC/jec LRS2012-1232
2	
3	
4	
5	
6	
7	
8	COMMENDING MONROEVILLE JR. HIGH SCHOOL ROBOTICS TEAM
9	FOR OUTSTANDING ACHIEVEMENT.
10	
11	WHEREAS, commendations and congratulations are
12	herein proudly extended to Monroeville Jr. High School
13	robotics team, in recognition of the outstanding achievement
14	of receiving an invitation to participate in the White House
15	Presidential Science Fair; and
16	WHEREAS, the exemplary school was the only
17	educational institution in the state to be invited to
18	participate in the prestigious event, and its robotics team is
19	the only team in the Friends of BEST program, a program that
20	familiarizes students with engineering and technology and
21	provides them with necessary skills for the workforce, to
22	receive this honor; the team garnered recognition from the
23	White House with extraordinary accomplishments made while
24	competing in esteemed competitions and;
25	WHEREAS, students who compete on the robotics team
26	at Monroeville Jr. High School include, Morgan Ard, Titus
27	Walker, Robert Knight, Desmond Stevens, Andrew Cahill, Lindsay

James, Jadarius Kidd, Laken Cole, Sarah Baker Barnhardt,

Octavia Johnson, Jada Robbins, Tiara Dean, Maggie Ray, Kaitlyn

Johnson, Ellissa Kidd, Terrance Johnson, and Jessica Feaster;

teachers and administrators involved with the team include,

Jena Mayo, Kathy Stacey, Kim Staley, and Dr. Kathy Murphy;

representatives from friends of BEST in Alabama include Robin

Fenton and Kellie Andrews; and

WHEREAS, with their commitment to excellence, these exceptionally talented Alabamians are the source of justifiable pride to Monroeville Jr. High School, their family, and the entire community, and they are truly deserving of the significant honor bestowed upon them; now therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF
THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA, That the Monroeville Jr. High
School robotics team is most highly honored and commended, and
this resolution is offered with heartiest congratulations on
receiving an invitation to participate in the White House
Presidential Science Fair, along with best wishes for
continuing success in all future endeavors.