STATE OF ALASKA SENATE

2017

Source SR 4 Senate Resolve No. 3



Supporting the Alaska Congressional delegation in protecting the state's right to manage wildlife within its borders.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE:

WHEREAS the United States Supreme Court has long interpreted the United States Constitution to provide state primacy in wildlife management; and

WHEREAS the state's authority to manage wildlife has been recognized in federal law, including the Alaska Statehood Act and the Alaska National Interest Lands Conservation Act; and

WHEREAS the state had managed wildlife within the state since it was granted that authority by the United States Department of the Interior in 1959, and that authority included management of hunting and trapping on national wildlife refuges and national preserves; and

WHEREAS the state's authority to manage wildlife was inappropriately rescinded by federal regulation for national preserves in October 2015 and national wildlife refuges in August 2016; and

WHEREAS, as a result, Alaskans have lost the ability to hunt predators at certain times of year or use certain practices in certain areas of the state because unelected individuals

within the United States Department of the Interior found those activities distasteful; and

WHEREAS the United States Congress has an opportunity to repeal the Refuge Rule under the Congressional Review Act under resolutions of disapproval sponsored by Congressman Don Young, Senator Lisa Murkowski, and Senator Dan Sullivan; and

WHEREAS the United States House of Representatives passed Congressman Don Young's disapproval resolution by a vote of 225 to 193 on February 16, 2017; and

WHEREAS United States Secretary of the Interior Nominee Ryan Zinke stated at his confirmation hearing on January 17, 2017, that he would conduct a formal review of both rules;

BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska Senate supports these efforts to repeal the national preserve and national wildlife refuge rules to restore the state's role in wildlife management; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED that the Alaska Senate congratulates Congressman Young on passage of his disapproval resolution and encourages Senators Murkowski and Sullivan to make all efforts to see that a resolution is also passed by the United States Senate.

COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Paul D. Ryan, Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives; the Honorable Mitch McConnell, Majority Leader of the U.S. Senate; and the Honorable Lisa Murkowski and the Honorable Dan Sullivan, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress.