STATE OF ALASKA THE LEGISLATURE

2021

Source CSSJR 9(L&C) am H Legislative Resolve No.



Urging the United States Congress to exempt cruise ships from certain provisions of the Passenger Vessel Services Act and other applicable provisions of federal law for the period during which Canadian ports are closed to cruise ships carrying more than 100 people; and urging the President of the United States not to fine or take actions against cruise ships sailing to the state.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

WHEREAS more than 2,260,000 visitors traveled to the state in 2019; and

WHEREAS, in 2019, approximately 1,331,600 people visited the state by cruise ship, accounting for 90 percent of the visitors to Southeast Alaska; and

WHEREAS, each year, the tourism industry generates more than \$214,000,000 in state and municipal revenue, more than \$1,400,000,000 in payroll, and \$2,200,000,000 of visitor spending; and

WHEREAS, on average, the tourism industry creates 8,394 jobs annually, generating \$271,600,000 in wages and earnings for Southeast Alaska each year; and

WHEREAS, in 2020, the diminished tourism season resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic contributed to an increase in statewide unemployment from 6.2 percent to 11.0

percent; in Southeast Alaska, unemployment increased from 4.7 percent to 11.3 percent, which equates to a loss of 17 percent of all jobs in the region; and

WHEREAS state residents are being vaccinated against COVID-19 at the highest rate per capita in the country, with 15 percent of state residents having been vaccinated; and

WHEREAS, on October 30, 2020, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention issued a Framework for Conditional Sailing Order, which allows cruise ships to resume sailing with mitigation plans for crews, passengers, and people in port communities and includes requirements for increased testing, additional crew safeguards, simulated voyages, and certification of mitigation plans; and

WHEREAS, on February 4, 2021, Canada extended until February 2022 a ban preventing cruise ships carrying more than 100 people from sailing through Canadian waters; and

WHEREAS 46 U.S.C. 55103 (Passenger Vessel Services Act) requires that certain passenger vessels that sail from United States ports must visit a foreign port before returning to a port in the United States; and

WHEREAS an exemption of cruise ships from the requirement of visiting a foreign port would help mitigate continued job and revenue loss and provide relief to an industry with an economic impact that spans across every region of the state and employs people from Ketchikan to Nome; and

WHEREAS other federal laws may interfere with the ability of certain ships to hire and retain crews on routes to the state that do not include a stop in Canada; and

WHEREAS small business owners, families, and young people in the state depend on tourism jobs for their livelihoods, and a missed cruise season could cause irreparable economic harm;

BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature urges the United States Congress to exempt certain cruise ships sailing to the state from provisions of the Passenger Vessel Services Act and other federal laws that require cruise ships to stop at a Canadian or other foreign port in order to operate in the state for the period during which Canadian ports are closed to cruise ships carrying more than 100 people; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED that, if the United States Congress does not exempt cruise ships from the requirements of the Passenger Vessel Services Act and any other applicable

provisions of federal law, the Alaska State Legislature urges the President of the United States, to the extent allowed by law, to exercise his authority to allow cruise ships to travel directly on round-trip itineraries to and from ports in the State of Washington and this state while Canadian ports are closed to cruise ships.

COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Joseph R. Biden, President of the United States; the Honorable Kamala D. Harris, Vice President of the United States and President of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Lisa Murkowski and the Honorable Dan Sullivan, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress; and all other members of the 117th United States Congress.