SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 6

IN THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA

THIRTY-THIRD LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION

BY SENATOR TOBIN

Introduced: 1/18/23 Referred: State Affairs

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Honoring the Alaska-Korea relationship; and celebrating the 70th anniversary of the
- 2 Mutual Defense Treaty between the United States and the Republic of Korea, the 70th
- 3 anniversary of the Korean Armistice Agreement, and the 120th anniversary of the first
- 4 Korean immigration to the United States.

5 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

- 6 WHEREAS 2023 marks 70 years since the signing of the Mutual Defense Treaty
- between the United States and the Republic of Korea, signed on October 1, 1953, and entered
- 8 into force November 17, 1954; and
- 9 WHEREAS 2023 marks 70 years since the signing of the Korean Armistice
- 10 Agreement, ending the hostilities of the Korean War; and
- WHEREAS 2023 marks 120 years since the first immigration of Koreans to the
- 12 United States, when the SS Gaelic brought the first Korean immigrants to Hawaii; and
- WHEREAS the United States and the Republic of Korea have longstanding ties
- through trade, military cooperation, tourism, immigration, and many other areas; and
- WHEREAS the United States and the Republic of Korea have been developing a

1	steadfast	parti	nership,	anchored i	in shared	values	and i	intere	ests, ta	ackling	the	most	pressing
2	regional	and	global	challenges,	thereby	evolving	g int	o a	global	l compr	reher	nsive	strategic
3	alliance;	and											

WHEREAS the United States and the Republic of Korea are major trade partners, with about \$169,000,000,000 of trade annually between the two nations in raw materials, including crude oil and natural gas, and in finished goods, such as automobiles and semiconductors; and

WHEREAS this state and the Republic of Korea engage in major trade, with about \$2,300,000,000 of trade annually between the state and the Republic of Korea, including minerals, fish, and computer products; and

WHEREAS some large Korean companies operate in the state, including major air cargo carriers Korean Air and Asiana Airlines that operate at the Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport; and

WHEREAS, each year, over 20,000,000 Korean tourists visit the United States and 17,000,000 tourists visit the Republic of Korea, contributing substantially to the economies of each country; and

WHEREAS 7,000 Koreans and Korean Americans live in the state, contributing to the rich history and culture of the state; and

WHEREAS the cities of Anchorage, Alaska, and Incheon, Republic of Korea, have been sister cities since 1986, acknowledging the ties between the state and the Republic of Korea and encouraging cultural and economic exchange; and

WHEREAS, since 2008, the state has celebrated Korea-Alaska Friendship Day on June 20, acknowledging the longstanding ties, economic and cultural exchange, and friendship between the state and the Republic of Korea;

BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature recognizes the strength and longevity of the relationship between the state and the Republic of Korea as premier partners in the Pacific region; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature acknowledges the important anniversaries marking 70 years since the signing of the Mutual Defense Treaty and the Korean Armistice Agreement, and 120 years since the first immigration of Koreans to the United States; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature eagerly looks forward to the continuation of the close relationship between the United States and the Republic of Korea and anticipates a growing relationship for years to come.

COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Joseph R. Biden, President of the United States; the Honorable Yoon Suk Yeol, President of the Republic of Korea; the Honorable Han Duck-soo, Prime Minister of the Republic of Korea; the Honorable Antony Blinken, United States Secretary of State; the Honorable Park Jin, Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Korea; the Honorable Lee Jong-Sup, Minister of National Defense of the Republic of Korea; the Honorable Lloyd Austin, United States Secretary of Defense; the Honorable Seo Eun-ji, Consul General of the Republic of Korea in Seattle, Washington; the Honorable Sang Sueng-man, Consul and Head of the Consulate of the Republic of Korea in Anchorage, Alaska; and the Honorable Lisa Murkowski and the Honorable Dan Sullivan, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Mary Peltola, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress.