SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 30

IN THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA

TWENTY-SIXTH LEGISLATURE - SECOND SESSION

BY THE SENATE RULES COMMITTEE BY REQUEST

Introduced: 4/9/10 Referred: State Affairs

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Urging the United States Congress to take action to end the People's Republic of China's
- 2 repression of human rights in Tibet, to recognize Tibetan political autonomy, and to
- 3 urge the government of the People's Republic of China to negotiate dispute resolutions
- 4 in good faith with representatives of His Holiness the Dalai Lama of Tibet.

5 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

- 6 **WHEREAS** the people of Tibet lived in peace and harmony for centuries; and
- WHEREAS the people of Tibet harbored no ill will toward anyone and had no desire
- 8 to extend their mountainous territory beyond its historic boundaries; and
- 9 **WHEREAS**, with absolutely no provocation from the Tibetan people, on March 10,
- 10 1959, the army of the People's Republic of China illegally invaded that peaceful Himalayan
- 11 Mountain kingdom; and
- WHEREAS it has been reported that more than 1,000,000 Tibetans have perished as a
- direct result of the Chinese occupation, that the Tibetan people have been deprived of any
- 14 right of self-determination, and that it is now nearly impossible for them to continue their
- distinctive cultural practices and religious observances; and

1	WHEREAS, despite the assertions of the government of the People's Republic of
2	China, the Tibetan people pose no threat in any manner to the security of that government
3	and
4	WHEREAS Article 5 of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights states in no
5	uncertain terms that "No one shall be subjected to torture or to cruel, inhuman or degrading
6	treatment or punishment"; and
7	WHEREAS the cruelty and repression that the People's Republic of China has
8	inflicted on the Tibetan people during a half-century of occupation is a serious violation of
9	human rights; and
10	WHEREAS the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, adopted by the General
11	Assembly of the United Nations on December 10, 1948, states that contempt for human rights
12	deserves condemnation on the part of the international community when it results in
13	barbarous acts that outrage mankind; and
14	WHEREAS, on March 10, 2008, large numbers of Tibetans protested against their
15	occupiers from the People's Republic of China; hundreds of Tibetans were killed, and many
16	remain missing or imprisoned; and
17	WHEREAS March 10, 2009, marked the 50th anniversary of the People's Republic of
18	China's invasion of Tibet, and protests around the world known as "Tibet Solidarity Walks"
19	sent a message of outrage to the government of the People's Republic of China, demanding
20	that Tibetans be treated with respect and human dignity; and
21	WHEREAS ending the cruelty, repression, and other unfair treatment of the Tibetan
22	people by the government of the People's Republic of China should be treated as a matter of
23	high priority by the United States Congress;
24	BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature condemns the continuing
25	repression of the Tibetan people and expresses its solidarity with the individuals who
26	participated in the protests that occurred around the world on March 10, 2009; and be it
27	FURTHER RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature urges the United States
28	Congress to
29	(1) take action to end the People's Republic of China's repression of human
30	rights in Tibet;
31	(2) recognize Tibetan political autonomy; and

1	(3) urge the government of the People's Republic of China to negotiate dispute
2	resolutions in good faith with representatives of His Holiness the Dalai Lama of Tibet.
3	COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Barack Obama, President of
4	the United States; the Honorable Joseph R. Biden, Jr., Vice-President of the United States and
5	President of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable John F. Kerry, Chair of the U.S. Senate
6	Committee on Foreign Relations; the Honorable Howard L. Berman, Chair of the U.S. House
7	Committee on Foreign Affairs; and the Honorable Lisa Murkowski and the Honorable Mark
8	Begich, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the

9

Alaska delegation in Congress.