## STATE OF ALASKA THE LEGISLATURE

## 2012

Source SJR 17 Legislative Resolve No.



Welcoming the Arctic Council Task Force for Arctic Marine Oil Pollution Preparedness and Response to the state for its March 2012 meeting and urging the task force to use its time in the state to inform and inspire the work of the task force.

## BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

**WHEREAS** the 2004 Ministerial meeting of the Arctic Council directed the Protection of the Arctic Marine Environment Working Group to conduct a comprehensive Arctic Marine Shipping Assessment; and

**WHEREAS** the 2009 Arctic Marine Shipping Assessment report recommended that the Arctic states enhance mutual cooperation to prevent oil spills; and

**WHEREAS**, at the May 2011 Ministerial meeting of the Arctic Council, the Senior Arctic Officials recommended that the Ministers mandate a task force to develop an international instrument on Arctic marine oil pollution preparedness and response to be presented at the next Ministerial meeting of the Arctic Council in 2013; and

WHEREAS the Arctic Council Task Force for Arctic Marine Oil Pollution Preparedness and Response is developing the Instrument on Cooperation on Marine Oil

Pollution Preparedness and Response in the Arctic, a framework for international collaboration in combating incidents or threats of marine oil pollution, to which eight Arctic states are a party; and

**WHEREAS** the Arctic Council Task Force for Arctic Marine Oil Pollution Preparedness and Response is holding its third meeting in Alaska in March 2012;

**BE IT RESOLVED** that the Alaska State Legislature welcomes the Arctic Council Task Force for Arctic Marine Oil Pollution Preparedness and Response to the state for its March 2012 meeting and urges the task force to use its time in the state to inform and inspire the work of the task force; and be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED** that the Alaska State Legislature wishes the Arctic Council Task Force for Arctic Marine Oil Pollution Preparedness and Response Godspeed in their work to develop the Instrument on Cooperation on Marine Oil Pollution Preparedness and Response in the Arctic; and be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED** that vessels transiting the Bering Strait and Aleutian regions and all vessels in innocent passage in Arctic waters should have adequate oil spill contingency plans and response capacity for marine oil spills that acknowledge the critical role of response organizations, indigenous people, state and local governments, and response organizations in preparedness and response; and be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED** that the Alaska State Legislature urges ships in the Bering Strait and Aleutian regions voluntarily to engage local authorities in contingency planning, and that the Instrument on Cooperation on Marine Oil Pollution Preparedness and Response in the Arctic encourages that engagement; and be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED** that the Alaska State Legislature recognizes the importance of cooperation among Arctic nations and the dedicated efforts of the Arctic Council Task Force for Arctic Marine Oil Pollution Preparedness and Response to develop effective plans for preparedness and response to marine oil pollution in the Arctic; and be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED** that the Alaska State Legislature recognizes the usefulness of conducting joint training exercises and exchanging information and experience regarding marine pollution preparedness and response.

**COPIES** of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Hillary Rodham Clinton, United States Secretary of State; Admiral Robert J. Papp, Commandant, United States Coast Guard; Ambassador David A. Balton, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Oceans and Fisheries, United States Department of State; Rear Admiral Thomas F. Ostebo, Commander, Seventeenth Coast Guard District; Gustaf Lind, Chair, Arctic Council, Senior Arctic Officials, and Senior Arctic Official of Sweden; Julia L. Gourley, Arctic Council, Senior Arctic Official of the United States; Sheila Riordon, Arctic Council, Senior Arctic Official of Canada; Nauja Bianco, Arctic Council, Senior Arctic Official of Denmark, Greenland, and Faroe Islands; Hannu Halinen, Arctic Council, Senior Arctic Official of Finland; Hjalmar W. Hannesson, Arctic Council, Senior Arctic Official of Iceland; Karsten Klepsvik, Arctic Council, Senior Arctic Official of Norway; Anton Vasiliev, Arctic Council, Senior Arctic Official of the Russian Federation; and the Honorable Lisa Murkowski and the Honorable Mark Begich, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress.