STATE OF ALASKA THE LEGISLATURE

2009

Source SJR 10 Legislative Resolve No. 12



Urging the United States Congress to adopt S. 371, the Respecting States Rights and Concealed Carry Reciprocity Act of 2009.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

WHEREAS the Second Amendment to the United States Constitution enunciates a citizen's right to keep and bear arms, stating that this right shall not be infringed; and

WHEREAS the right to keep and bear arms is one of the most cherished rights of all Americans, and Alaskans in particular; and

WHEREAS S. 371 has been introduced in the United States Senate to secure the right of individuals to lawfully carry concealed firearms across state lines; and

WHEREAS S. 371, referred to as the Respecting States Rights and Concealed Carry Reciprocity Act of 2009, would allow an individual to lawfully carry a concealed firearm across state lines if the individual has a valid permit or if, under the laws of the individual's state of residence, the individual is allowed to do so; and

WHEREAS S. 371 would establish a reciprocity agreement allowing Alaskans who may legally carry a concealed weapon in Alaska to do so in other states with concealed carry laws; and

WHEREAS Alaskans enjoy some of the greatest freedoms of any residents of the United States with regard to the Second Amendment;

BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature supports the Respecting States Rights and Concealed Carry Reciprocity Act of 2009, urges the United States Congress to adopt S. 371, and further urges the members of the Alaska Congressional delegation to support and pass S. 371.

COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Joseph R. Biden, Jr., Vice-President of the United States and President of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Harry Reid, Majority Leader of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Mitch McConnell, Minority Leader of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Nancy Pelosi, Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives; the Honorable John Boehner, Minority Leader of the U.S. House of Representatives; and the Honorable Lisa Murkowski and the Honorable Mark Begich, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress.