STATE OF ALASKA HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

2019

Source HR 5 AM House Resolve No.



Establishing a House Special Committee on Tribal Affairs.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES:

WHEREAS Alaska Native people have over 10,000 years of documented history on land now recognized as part of the state; and

WHEREAS Alaska Native people are members of federally recognized tribes that maintain a unique political relationship with the federal government; and

WHEREAS the state is home to 229 federally recognized tribes, nearly half of the 573 federally recognized tribes in the nation; and

WHEREAS Alaska Native tribal nations prioritize the health, welfare, and well-being of their members as does any other sovereign state; and

WHEREAS Alaska Native resources, languages, and culture have significantly contributed and continue to contribute to the history, identity, and policies of the state; and

WHEREAS Alaska Native tribes benefit from a social and legal relationship and a trust relationship with the federal government that helps to shape policy while also bringing millions of dollars in revenue to the state, creating thousands of jobs, and infusing significant renewable resources into the economy; and

WHEREAS the House of Representatives recognizes the contribution made by Alaska Native tribes and recognizes the unique relationship the state enjoys with Alaska Native tribes;

BE IT RESOLVED by the House of Representatives that a House Special Committee on Tribal Affairs is established to advance strategic partnerships with tribes that seek to advance and strengthen tribal communities, a vision shared by the state; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED that the Speaker of the House of Representatives shall determine the number of representatives to be members of the committee, appoint the members, and designate a member or members to chair the committee; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED that the House Special Committee on Tribal Affairs may meet during and between sessions of the Thirty-First Alaska State Legislature and is terminated on the convening of the First Regular Session of the Thirty-Second Alaska State Legislature.