31-LS0965\A

#### **HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 21**

#### IN THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA

THIRTY-FIRST LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION

BY REPRESENTATIVES REVAK, Jackson, Vance, Kreiss-Tomkins, Lincoln, Shaw, Tuck, Spohnholz, Talerico

Introduced: 5/15/19 Referred: Community & Regional Affairs

#### A RESOLUTION

#### 1 Commemorating the 100th anniversary of women's suffrage.

### 2 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

WHEREAS, at the time of ratification, the Constitution of the United States did not
define the limits of suffrage, deferring the establishment of voter qualifications to the states;
and

6 WHEREAS, in 1878, United States Senator Aaron Sargent introduced an amendment 7 to the Constitution of the United States, known colloquially as the "Anthony Amendment" 8 after women's suffrage activist Susan B. Anthony, that would have prohibited states and the 9 federal government from denying suffrage to citizens of the United States based on sex, but 10 that was ultimately defeated in the United States Senate; and

WHEREAS, after the United States Congress established the Territory of Alaska through the Second Organic Act of 1912, the first legislative action by the First Alaska Territorial Legislature was to recognize the right of women to vote. House Bill No. 2, An Act to Extend the Elective Franchise to Women in the Territory of Alaska, was signed into law March 21, 1913--seven years before a similar law would be enacted at the federal level; and

16 WHEREAS, 41 years after United States Senator Aaron Sargent introduced the

"Anthony Amendment," following significant political gains made by women's suffrage
advocates such as Susan B. Anthony, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, and Lucy Stone, among others,
a constitutional amendment granting women the right to vote was again introduced by
President Woodrow Wilson in a special session of the United States Congress and ratified a
year later in 1920 after narrowly achieving the necessary support of three-fourths of the states,
with Tennessee being the last state to vote in the affirmative; and

WHEREAS, with the adoption of the Nineteenth Amendment to the Constitution of
the United States, women's suffrage was achieved in the United States, allowing countless
women across the nation and in the state to contribute to the body of legislation in the interest
of improving their respective states, the nation, and the world; and

WHEREAS, in 1936, Representative Nell Scott was the first female legislator elected
 to the Alaska Territorial House of Representatives, becoming the first female legislator in
 Alaska's history; and

14

15

WHEREAS, in 1949, Senator Anita Garnick was the first woman elected to the Alaska Territorial Senate; and

WHEREAS, in 1959, Representative Blanche McSmith was appointed to the House
 of Representatives by Governor Bill Egan, serving in that body as the first female African
 American legislator; and

WHEREAS, in 1959, Representative Helen Fisher, Representative Blanche McSmith,
 Representative Doris Sweeny, and Senator Irene Ryan became the first women elected to
 serve in the First Alaska State Legislature following the proclamation of Alaska as a state in
 1959; and

## WHEREAS, in 1987, Senator Jan Faiks became the first woman to serve as President of the Senate; and

WHEREAS, in 1993, Senator Georgianna Lincoln became the first Alaska Native woman elected to the Senate and Representative Ramona Barnes was elected as the first female Speaker of the House of Representatives; and

# WHEREAS, in 1994, Fran Ulmer was elected as the first female lieutenant governor of the state; and

WHEREAS, in 2000, Senator Bettye Davis became the first African American
woman elected to the Senate; and

- WHEREAS, in 2002, United States Senator Lisa Murkowski became the first woman
   from the state to be appointed and later elected to the United States Senate; and
- WHEREAS, in 2006, Sarah Palin was elected as the state's first female governor and
  in 2008 was chosen to be republican presidential nominee John McCain's running mate,
  making history again as the first person from the state to run on a presidential ticket; and
- 6 WHEREAS, in 2019, 23 female legislators serve in the Thirty-First Alaska State
  7 Legislature, the largest proportion of women lawmakers in the state's history; and
- 8 WHEREAS, in 2019, the Dunleavy administration has appointed an unprecedented 9 number of women to historically male-held roles in the executive branch;
- 10 **BE IT RESOLVED** that on this 100th anniversary of women's suffrage in the United 11 States, the Thirty-First Alaska State Legislature requests that the Lieutenant Governor 12 coordinate recognition and commemorative events throughout the period leading up to and 13 during the 100th anniversary year of 2020 to celebrate the great strides made by women since 14 the establishment of women's suffrage, and specifically celebrate the state's rich history in 15 empowering women as equal members of society.