## STATE OF ALASKA THE LEGISLATURE

## 2014

Source HJR 20 Legislative Resolve No. 47



Urging the President of the United States and the United States Congress to repeal the excise tax on medical devices.

## BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

WHEREAS a new federal excise tax of 2.3 percent on the sale of taxable medical devices by manufacturers, producers, and importers of those devices took effect January 1, 2013; and

**WHEREAS** the medical device tax is imposed on United States sales, rather than profits, of medical device manufacturers, producers, and importers and will be particularly damaging to innovative start-up companies; and

**WHEREAS** the medical device tax was projected to raise \$20,000,000,000, but that estimate has risen to over \$30,000,000,000; and

**WHEREAS** the medical device tax will substantially increase the cost of health care and takes direct aim at American innovation by punishing the researchers and manufacturers of devices such as heart stents, pacemakers, patient monitors, artificial hips, limbs, and hearts, and a multitude of other medical devices; and

WHEREAS thousands of layoffs in the United States have already occurred because

of the medical device tax; and

**WHEREAS** the medical device tax threatens regional economic vitality, badly needed jobs, and patients' hopes for new, life-saving products and treatments; and

WHEREAS the repeal of the medical device tax has strong bipartisan support;

**BE IT RESOLVED** that the Alaska State Legislature urges the President of the United States and the United States Congress to repeal the excise tax on medical devices.

**COPIES** of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Barack Obama, President of the United States; the Honorable Joseph R. Biden, Jr., Vice-President of the United States and President of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable John Boehner, Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives; the Honorable Nancy Pelosi, Minority Leader of the U.S. House of Representatives; the Honorable Harry Reid, Majority Leader of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Mitch McConnell, Minority Leader of the U.S. Senate; and the Honorable Lisa Murkowski and the Honorable Mark Begich, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress.