## **HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 19**

# IN THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA

## THIRTIETH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION

#### BY REPRESENTATIVE WESTLAKE

Introduced: 4/7/17

Referred:

## **A RESOLUTION**

1 Commending the Arctic Waterways Safety Committee; supporting the adoption of 2 prevention measures into international agreements to ensure clear, universal, and 3 enforceable marine safety measures in the Arctic; and urging the state's delegation in 4 the United States Congress and the governor to promote the adoption of spill prevention 5 measures into international agreements; urging the President of the United States and 6 the United States Department of State to initiate negotiations to enter into international 7 agreements to ensure safe and environmentally responsible marine operations in the 8 Arctic.

### 9 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

WHEREAS the Arctic Waterways Safety Committee has been formed by marine
mammal hunting groups, Arctic municipalities, and Arctic marine ship operators to identify
and promote safe and environmentally responsible shipping operations in the Arctic; and

WHEREAS, because of the lack of spill response capacity in the Arctic, the United

States Coast Guard has authorized vessels to adopt spill prevention measures in lieu of

1	meeting the response standard; and
2	WHEREAS, even under the best circumstances, only 20 percent of spilled oil is
3	recovered, indicating the importance of spill prevention measures; and
4	WHEREAS prevention measures include active vessel tracking and monitoring,
5	prescribed routing measures, immediate notification of a loss of vessel power or steering,
6	identification of vessels nearby with an opportunity to respond, identification of ports of
7	refuge, prepositioning towing packages and ship arrestors, and dynamic protection of local
8	marine mammal resources; and
9	WHEREAS prevention measures only apply to vessels calling on a port in the United
10	States; and
11	WHEREAS vessels not calling on a port in the United States are considered in
12	innocent passage and not subject to prevention measures; and
13	WHEREAS the United States has not ratified the Law of the Sea Treaty and
14	accordingly may not use Article 234, which authorizes coastal states with "ice-covered areas"
15	to require special protection measures; and
16	WHEREAS universal adherence to marine protection measures in the Arctic may also
17	occur through international bilateral agreements or by the adoption of measures in the Polar
18	Code of the International Maritime Organization;
19	BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature commends the formation of the
20	Arctic Waterways Safety Committee and appreciates its leadership in establishing safe
21	shipping practices in state water; and be it
22	FURTHER RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature supports the adoption of
23	prevention measures into international agreements to ensure clear, universal, and enforceable
24	marine safety measures in the Arctic; and be it
25	FURTHER RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature urges the governor and the
26	state's congressional delegation to promote the adoption of spill prevention measures into
27	international agreements with member organizations, including the Northern Forum; and be it
28	FURTHER RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature urges the President of the
29	United States and the United States Department of State to initiate negotiations with the state's
30	coastal neighbors to enter into international agreements to ensure safe and environmentally

responsible marine operations in the Arctic.

31

1 **COPIES** of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Donald J. Trump, President 2 of the United States; the Honorable Michael R. Pence, Vice President of the United States and 3 President of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Paul D. Ryan, Speaker of the U.S. House of 4 Representatives; the Honorable Nancy Pelosi, Minority Leader of the U.S. House of Representatives; the Honorable Mitch McConnell, Majority Leader of the U.S. Senate; the 5 6 Honorable Charles E. Schumer, Minority Leader of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Lisa 7 Murkowski, Chair of the U.S. Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources; the 8 Honorable Dan Sullivan, U.S. Senator, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, 9 members of the Alaska delegation in Congress; and all other members of the 115th United 10 States Congress.