SENATE CS FOR CS FOR HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 18(RES)

IN THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA

TWENTY-NINTH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION

BY THE SENATE RESOURCES COMMITTEE

Offered: 4/11/15 Referred: Rules

Sponsor(s): REPRESENTATIVE MILLETT

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Urging the United States Congress to pass the Improved National Monument
- 2 **Designation Process Act.**

3 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

- 4 **WHEREAS** the President of the United States may "declare by public proclamation
- 5 historic landmarks, historic and prehistoric structures, and other objects of historic or
- 6 scientific interest" as national monuments under the Antiquities Act of 1906 (16 U.S.C. 431 -
- 7 433), and the United States Congress may establish national monuments through legislation;
- 8 and
- 9 **WHEREAS** the Antiquities Act requires the President of the United States to reserve
- 10 "the smallest area compatible with the proper care and management of the objects to be
- protected" within the boundaries of the national monument; and
- WHEREAS there are already 142 national monuments ranging in size from less than
- an acre to nearly 140,000 square miles spread out across the land and water of the United
- 14 States: and
- WHEREAS President Barack Obama has unilaterally expanded the scope and
- 16 boundaries of national monuments; and

1	WHEREAS President Obama has established 10 new national monuments since
2	beginning his second term of office; and
3	WHEREAS President Obama was responsible for the largest expansion of an existing
4	national monument when he added, by proclamation, approximately 400,000 square miles to
5	the Pacific Remote Islands Marine National Monument in 2014; and
6	WHEREAS the establishment or expansion of national monuments without
7	consideration of the possible detrimental effects on natural resource development, commercial
8	fishing, tourism, and other industries may create considerable hardship on regional, state, and
9	local economies; and
10	WHEREAS the President's exercise of power under the Antiquities Act is limited in
11	Alaska by the "no more" clauses of the Alaska National Interest Lands Conservation Act; and
12	WHEREAS, in the Alaska National Interest Lands Conservation Act, the federal
13	government promised the state and people of Alaska that it would maintain in the lands it
14	manages a balance between environmental protection and the economic and social needs of
15	Alaskans and that no more land in the state would be set aside; and
16	WHEREAS, in February 2015, United States Senators Lisa Murkowski and Dan
17	Sullivan jointly introduced S. 437, the Improved National Monument Designation Process
18	Act, establishing new requirements and limitations on the authority of the President of the
19	United States to establish or expand national monuments under the Antiquities Act; and
20	WHEREAS, under the Improved National Monument Designation Process Act, the
21	President of the United States may not establish a national monument unless it is approved by
22	the United States Congress and by each affected state or territory within 100 miles of the
23	proposed national monument; and
24	WHEREAS the purposes of the "no more" clauses of the Alaska National Interest
25	Lands Conservation Act would be strengthened by the limitations placed on the authority of
26	the President by the Improved National Monument Designation Process Act;
27	BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature supports the direct involvement
28	of the United States Congress and the states in the establishment and expansion of national
29	monuments; and be it
30	FURTHER RESOLVED the Alaska State Legislature urges the United States
31	Congress to pass S. 437, the Improved National Monument Designation Process Act, so that

the use of Alaska's renewable and nonrenewable resources is protected and environmentally responsible resource extraction and development activities may take place.

3 **COPIES** of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Barack Obama, President of 4 the United States; the Honorable Joseph R. Biden, Jr., Vice-President of the United States and 5 President of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable John Boehner, Speaker of the U.S. House of 6 Representatives; the Honorable Kevin McCarthy, Majority Leader of the U.S. House of 7 Representatives; the Honorable Nancy Pelosi, Minority Leader of the U.S. House of 8 Representatives; the Honorable Mitch McConnell, Majority Leader of the U.S. Senate; the 9 Honorable Harry Reid, Minority Leader of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Lisa Murkowski, 10 Chair of the U.S. Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources; the Honorable Dan 11 Sullivan, U.S. Senator, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the 12 Alaska delegation in Congress; and all other members of the 114th United States Congress.