CS FOR HOUSE BILL NO. 346(L&C)

IN THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA

TWENTY-SIXTH LEGISLATURE - SECOND SESSION

BY THE HOUSE LABOR AND COMMERCE COMMITTEE

Offered: 2/26/10 Referred: Finance

Sponsor(s): REPRESENTATIVE OLSON

A BILL

FOR AN ACT ENTITLED

- 1 "An Act establishing the Workers' Compensation Advisory Council, and abolishing the
- 2 Medical Services Review Committee; and providing for an effective date."

3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

- * **Section 1.** AS 23.30 is amended by adding a new section to read:
- Sec. 23.30.275. Workers' Compensation Advisory Council. (a) The Workers' Compensation Advisory Council is established in the department. The council consists of the following members:
- 8 (1) four members who represent organized labor;
- 9 (2) four members who represent employers, including one member 10 who represents self-insured employers, one member who represents oil industry 11 employers, and one member who represents general contractors;
- 12 (3) three members who represent medical care providers, including one 13 member who represents the Alaska State Medical Association, one member who 14 represents the Alaska Chiropractic Society, and one member who represents the

1	Alaska State Hospital and Nursing Home Association;
2	(4) two members who represent insurers;
3	(5) the commissioner, ex officio, or the commissioner's designee; and
4	(6) two members from the membership of the legislature.
5	(b) The commissioner shall appoint the members designated in (a)(1) - (a)(5)
6	of this section. The president of the senate shall appoint one member designated in
7	(a)(6) of this section from the senate, and the speaker of the house of representatives
8	shall appoint the other member from the house of representatives.
9	(c) Members shall serve staggered terms of five years and may be reappointed
10	to the council, except that the members of the legislature appointed under (a)(6) of this
11	section serve for two years.
12	(d) Members shall elect a chair from the membership.
13	(e) Members may not receive compensation for service on the council, but are
14	entitled to per diem and travel expenses authorized for council and commissions under
15	AS 39.20.180.
16	(f) The council shall meet at the call of the chair. The council shall meet at
17	least once every six months. A majority of the members of the council constitutes a
18	quorum for the conduct of business. Only the members listed in (a)(1) - (3) of this
19	section may vote at a meeting of the council.
20	(g) The council shall advise the department on all matters pertaining to the
21	application, revision, and operation of this chapter, including advice about regulations
22	and procedures and estimating the resources and resource costs needed to carry out the
23	provisions of this chapter.
24	* Sec. 2. AS 23.30.095(j) is repealed.
25	* Sec. 3. AS 23.30.275, enacted by sec. 1 of this Act, is repealed June 30, 2015.
26	* Sec. 4. Section 82, ch. 10, FSSLA 2005, is repealed.
27	* Sec. 5. The uncodified law of the State of Alaska is amended by adding a new section to
28	read:
29	TRANSITIONAL PROVISIONS; STAGGERED TERMS. (a) The initial terms of the
30	members appointed under AS 23.30.275(a)(1), enacted by sec. 1 of this Act, shall be
31	determined as follows: one member for a two-year term, one member for a three-year term,

- one member for a four-year term, and one member for a five-year term.
- 2 (b) The initial terms of the members appointed under AS 23.30.275(a)(2), enacted by 3 sec. 1 of this Act, shall be as follows: one member for a two-year term; one member for a
- 4 three-year term; one member for a four-year term; and one member for a five-year term.
- 5 (c) The initial terms of the members appointed under AS 23.30.275(a)(3), enacted by 6 sec. 1 of this Act, shall be as follows: one member for a three-year term; one member for a four-year term; and one member for a five-year term.
- 8 (d) The initial terms for the members appointed under AS 23.30.275(a)(4), enacted by 9 sec. 1 of this Act, shall be determined as follows: one member for a four-year term and one 10 member for a five-year term.
- * Sec. 6. This Act takes effect immediately under AS 01.10.070(c).