LC005916

2014 -- S 3097

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

IN GENERAL ASSEMBLY

JANUARY SESSION, A.D. 2014

SENATE RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING THE TIVERTON/ROGERS CO-OP BOYS' LACROSSE TEAM ON WINNING THE 2014 RHODE ISLAND BOYS' LACROSSE DIVISION III STATE CHAMPIONSHIP

Introduced By: Senators Felag, DiPalma, Paiva Weed, Ottiano, and Walaska

Date Introduced: June 11, 2014

Referred To: Recommended for Immediate Consideration

1 WHEREAS, The Tiverton/Rogers Co-op Lacrosse team finished the regular season with 2 a 12-1 record and tied for first place in the regular season league standings. They also compiled a 3 superb overall record of 13-2 and outscored their opponents in the regular season by more than 4 one hundred points; and

5 WHEREAS, After overwhelming Scituate in the quarterfinals of the 2014 Rhode Island Boys' Division III Tournament by the score of 15-1, Tiverton/Rogers faced a dangerous 6 7 Burrillville/North Smithfield squad in the semi-finals. In a scintillating match that included numerous lead changes, Tiverton/Rogers emerged victorious after scoring two quick goals in a 8 9 row and holding Burrillville/North Smithfield scoreless for the last four minutes of the game; and WHEREAS, The 2014 Rhode Island Boys' Lacrosse Division III Championship game 10 11 was held at Brown University's Stevenson Field between the two squads that had tied for the 12 regular season league title, Tiverton/Rogers and Coventry High School. In a closely fought and 13 thrilling game, Tiverton/Rogers, led by Player of the Game Liam Leys and goalkeeper Sean 14 King's fifteen saves, won the state title by the score of 8-7; and

WHEREAS, Winning a state championship in any sport, but especially team sports, requires that every member of the team gives their all to the team and is exclusively focused on team goals and aspirations instead of individual accomplishments. The 2014 Tiverton/Rogers Boys' Lacrosse team had those qualities in abundance led by Captains Liam Leys, Cole G. Criollos and Nathan W. Johanning, and ably assisted by Dylan Pacheco, Evan L. Sanford, Nick

1 Bortmann, Mac Leys, Logan C. Cabral-Pelletier, McKenzie Leno, Shaun A. Souza, Donovan E. 2 Rosa, Colin Greenman, Alex J. Cotton, Ian P. Rasheigh McNally, Dylan J. Furtado, Thomas F. McKinnon, Chris Straka, Sean P. Donovan, Paul C. Matthews, Dan Henriques, Brett J. Martin, 3 4 Sean King, Remy Murphy, Tristan Silva, Bebe Stefan, William C. Armstrong, Gregory R. 5 Johanning, Brian J. Donovan, Jacob Bianchi, Matthew N. Lavoie, and Riley Bolen; and 6 WHEREAS, The Tiverton/Rogers Boys' Lacrosse team was also fortunate to be led by a 7 superb coaching staff of Head Coach Shane Parker and Assistant Coaches John Heino and Patrick 8 Meyers, along with support and assistance provided by Principal Steven Fezette and Athletic 9 Director Robert A. Murray; now, therefore be it 10 RESOLVED, That this Senate of the State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations 11 hereby congratulates the Tiverton/Rogers Co-op Boys' Lacrosse team on winning the 2014 Rhode 12 Island Boys' Lacrosse Division III State Championship; and be it further 13 RESOLVED, That the Secretary of State be and hereby is authorized and directed to 14 transmit a duly certified copy of this resolution to Tiverton/Rogers Boys' Lacrosse Head Coach

15 Shane Parker.

LC005916