LC006064

# 2024 -- S 3064

# STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

# IN GENERAL ASSEMBLY

#### JANUARY SESSION, A.D. 2024

### SENATE RESOLUTION

# CONGRATULATING THE BROWN UNIVERSITY WOMEN'S RUGBY TEAM ON WINNING THE 2024 COLLEGIATE RUGBY CHAMPIONSHIP'S NATIONAL 7S WOMEN'S PREMIER CUP CHAMPIONSHIP FOR THE SECOND YEAR IN A ROW

Introduced By: Senator Tiara T. Mack

Date Introduced: May 09, 2024

Referred To: Recommended for Immediate Consideration

WHEREAS, The Collegiate Rugby Championship National 7s is the largest collegiate
rugby tournament in the world with 144 teams participating and 300 matches being played; and
WHEREAS, In a command performance that wowed all observers, the Brown University
Women's Rugby Team repeated as the Champions of the Collegiate Rugby Championship
Women's Premier Cup, as they dominated a talented Army team to win by a final score of 12-5;
and

WHEREAS, Kate Muldoon, a Women's Premier Cup All-Tournament Team selection and the MVP of the Tournament, got the Bears squad off to a fast start when she offloaded to Akilah Cathey to put the first points on the board. Morgan Cunningham put the Bears up 12-0 at halftime, a lead the Brown Women's team would never relinquish thanks to the relentless defense they played in the second half and the stellar play also provided by Women's Premier Cup All-Tournament selection Nikki Lynch; and

WHEREAS, Winning a Championship at the collegiate level is an incredible achievement and repeating as Champions is an achievement accomplished by very few teams. The Brown Women's Rugby Team has compiled these incredible accomplishments thanks to a talented and resilient roster comprised of a group of young ladies who always gave one-hundred percent and always placed team needs and goals ahead of personal aspirations. These gifted athletes of the champion Brown University Women's Rugby Team include Aziza Alford, Ashley Amparo, Makayla Atoigue, Olivia Baptiste, Laryssa Barbosa, Hannah Cabarles, Akilah Cathey, Faith Chen, Makena Corsiglia, Kendall Cunningham, Morgan Cunningham, Val Detheux,
Delaney Dill, Hattie Grant, Noelle Lewis, Nikki Lynch, Elizabeth Mahoney, Kate Muldoon, Tate
Muller, Julia Murray, Lily Nowak, Emme Ohnmacht, Natalie Phonwiang, Tarn Reilly, Jiya
Sandhu, Jania Vandevoorde, Trinity Williams, Sadie Wilson, and Jordan Wiseman; and

5 WHEREAS, The Brown University Women's Rugby Team is blessed to be led by Head 6 Coach Rosalind Chou, one of the very best Rugby coaches in the nation. She recently tied the 7 record for most titles in the history of the Collegiate Rugby Championship, winning back-to-back 8 titles at Brown and previously winning back-to-back titles at Life University. Head Coach Chou 9 was ably assisted all season by the contributions provided by Assistant Coaches Bridget Kahele 10 and Kittery Wagner Ruiz; now, therefore be it

RESOLVED, That this Senate of the State of Rhode Island hereby congratulates the
Brown University Women's Rugby Team for winning the 2024 Collegiate Rugby Championship
National 7s Women's Premier Cup Championship for the second year in a row; and be it further
RESOLVED, That the Secretary of State be and hereby is authorized and directed to

transmit a duly certified copy of this resolution to the Brown University Women's Rugby TeamHead Coach, Rosalind Chou.

LC006064