SECOND REGULAR SESSION

HOUSE BILL NO. 1634

102ND GENERAL ASSEMBLY

INTRODUCED BY REPRESENTATIVE POUCHE.

DANA RADEMAN MILLER, Chief Clerk

AN ACT

To repeal section 238.060, RSMo, and to enact in lieu thereof one new section relating to the Kansas City area transportation authority.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the state of Missouri, as follows:

Section A. Section 238.060, RSMo, is repealed and one new section enacted in lieu 2 thereof, to be known as section 238.060, to read as follows:

238.060. 1. There shall be five commissioners of the Kansas City area transportation authority appointed from within the district established by the compact between the states of Missouri and Kansas. One commissioner each shall be appointed from Cass, Platte and Clay counties. One commissioner shall be appointed from a part of Jackson County other than that part of such county that is within the city of Kansas City, and one commissioner shall be appointed from the city of Kansas City. The commissioners serving on August 28, 2000, shall serve the remainder of the term for which they were appointed.

8 2. Within sixty days before the expiration of the term of each commissioner holding 9 office on August 28, 2000, or any commissioner holding office after August 28, 2000, or 10 within thirty days after the position of a commissioner shall become vacant, that 11 commissioner's successor shall be appointed as follows:

12 (1) If the current commissioner or the position which has become vacant was 13 appointed from Platte or Clay County, the county commission of the county shall submit a 14 panel of three persons who are residents of that county and of any city, town or village, 15 including the city of Kansas City, Missouri, that has appropriated funds for operations of the 16 Kansas City area transportation authority in its current or immediately preceding fiscal year, 17 selected by a majority vote of the commission, to the mayor of Kansas City, Missouri, who

EXPLANATION — Matter enclosed in bold-faced brackets [thus] in the above bill is not enacted and is intended to be omitted from the law. Matter in **bold-face** type in the above bill is proposed language.

3856H.01I

HB 1634

18 shall appoint a successor from the panel submitted by the county commission, with the

approval of a majority of the members of the city council of the city of Kansas City, Missouri
[, a successor];

(2) (2) If the current commissioner or the position which has become vacant was appointed from Cass County, the county commission of the county shall, by a majority vote, submit a panel of three persons who are residents of the county to the governor. Within thirty days of submission, the governor shall appoint one person from the panel as commissioner, with the advice and consent of the senate; provided that, if any panel is not submitted to the governor by the time appointment is required, the governor shall appoint a qualified person meeting the residency requirements to fill the vacancy;

(3) If the current commissioner or the position which has become vacant was
appointed from Jackson County, the county executive of Jackson County shall appoint a
successor who shall be a resident of any city, town or village, other than the city of Kansas
City, Missouri, that has appropriated funds for operations of the Kansas City area
transportation authority in its current or immediately preceding fiscal year;

(4) If the current commissioner or the position which has become vacant was
appointed from Kansas City, Missouri, the mayor of Kansas City, Missouri, shall appoint a
successor who is a resident of that city.

36 3. Each commissioner appointed pursuant to this section shall hold office for a term 37 of four years or for the unexpired term of his or her predecessor and shall continue in office 38 until his or her successor has been appointed and has qualified. No person shall serve more 39 than two consecutive four-year terms as a commissioner, provided that a person appointed to 40 serve the unexpired term of a predecessor whose remaining term at the time of such 41 appointment is more than two and one-half years shall only be permitted to serve one 42 additional, consecutive four-year term.

√