BY SENATOR CROWE

A RESOLUTION

To establish the St. Tammany Parish Inspector General Task Force to study the feasibility of creating an office of inspector general for St. Tammany Parish.

WHEREAS, various parish governments around the state have increased public confidence within their respective parishes by creating an office of inspector general; and

WHEREAS, parishes which have created offices of inspector general include Jefferson, Orleans, and East Baton Rouge; and

WHEREAS, many citizens of the parish of St. Tammany have indicated that they believe it is in the best interest of the parish to create an office of inspector general; and

WHEREAS, many citizens of the parish of St. Tammany have also indicated that they believe that a task force to study the feasibility of creating an office of inspector general for St. Tammany Parish should be established.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana hereby creates the St. Tammany Parish Inspector General Task Force to study the feasibility of creating an office of inspector general for St. Tammany Parish.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the task force shall be composed of the following members:

- (1) One appointee of the St. Tammany Parish Council.
- (2) The parish president of the parish of St. Tammany or her designee.
- (3) Two appointees of the legislative delegation comprised of all state representatives and senators who represent all or part of the parish of St. Tammany.
 - (4) One appointee of the League of Women Voters of St. Tammany.
 - (5) One appointee of the Concerned Citizens of St. Tammany.
 - (6) One appointee of the Concerned Citizens of St. Tammany.
 - (7) One appointee of the Northshore Business Council.

SR NO. 89 ENROLLED

- (8) One appointee of the St. Tammany East Chamber of Commerce.
- (9) One appointee of the St. Tammany West Chamber of Commerce.
- (10) One appointee of the Northshore Legislative Alliance.
- (11) The district attorney of the Twenty-Second Judicial District or his designee.
- (12) The sheriff of St. Tammany Parish or his designee.
- (13) The clerk of court of the parish of St. Tammany or his designee.
- (14) The tax assessor of the parish of St. Tammany or his designee.
- (15) The superintendent of the St. Tammany Parish School District or his designee.
- (16) The coroner of the parish of St. Tammany or his designee.
- (17) One appointee of the city council of the city of Slidell.
- (18) One appointee of the city council of the city of Covington.
- (19) One appointee of the city council of the city of Mandeville.
- (20) One appointee of the town council of the town of Abita Springs.
- (21) One appointee of the board of aldermen of the village of Folsom.
- (22) One appointee of the town council of the town of Pearl River.
- (23) One appointee of the town council of the town of Madisonville.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that all appointing authorities shall make their appointments to the task force no later than August 1, 2013.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the president of the parish council of the parish of St. Tammany shall call the organizational meeting of the St. Tammany Parish Inspector General Task Force.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the task force shall elect a chairman from among its members by a majority vote of the members. Should any appointing authority fail to make an appointment on or before August 1, 2013, the task force shall elect a chairman from among its members by majority vote of the members representing those appointing authorities who make appointments no later than August 1, 2013.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the members of the task force shall serve without compensation, except per diem or expense reimbursement to which they may be individually entitled as members of their constituent organizations.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a majority of the total membership of those

SR NO. 89 ENROLLED

members appointed shall constitute a quorum of the task force and any official action by the

task force shall require the affirmative vote of a majority of the quorum present and voting.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the task force shall meet as necessary and shall

report its findings to the legislature, with any recommendations for legislation, not later than

March 1, 2014.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the

St. Tammany Parish council, the parish president of the parish of St. Tammany, the League

of Women Voters of St. Tammany, Concerned Citizens of St. Tammany, the Northshore

Business Council, the St. Tammany East Chamber of Commerce, the St. Tammany West

Chamber of Commerce, the Northshore Legislative Alliance, the district attorney of the

Twenty-Second Judicial District, the sheriff of St. Tammany Parish, the clerk of court of the

parish of St. Tammany, the tax assessor of the parish of St. Tammany, the superintendent

of the St. Tammany Parish School District, the coroner of the parish of St. Tammany, the

city council of the city of Slidell, the city council of the city of Covington, the city council

of the city of Mandeville, the town council of the town of Abita Springs, the board of

aldermen of the village of Folsom, the town council of the town of Pearl River, and the town

council of the town of Madisonville.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

Page 3 of 3